HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 28, 2008, 06:46 PM
Debary, Fl.
Joined Oct 2007
2,312 Posts
Discussion
Post your swap meet finds (or nightmares)

Most of the Shady Fliers showed up for a swap meet a couple of weeks ago. Most of us came home with a plane or some other stuff. I, myself, found a Wattage S3 Viking kit for $20. After some information searches here I found out it isn't a good flyer. This kit would need a lot of work possibly including upgrading to brushless. It also would need expensive electronics to get just the stock kit to work. Not to mention I'm a newbie to building models.

Long story short...another member found a GWS BN2 (also $20). He had showed interest in my Viking. We ended up trading kits. This would be cheaper for me to build and his pockets are deeper for the Viking.

I'm looking at this now as a learning opportunity. I'll be installing ailerons, and the rudder with hinges.

Later I'm starting a tread for boring models that don't deserve a build thread!

ANYWAY... post your finds and wether they were worth it or not!
Pudknocker71 is offline Find More Posts by Pudknocker71
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 28, 2008, 06:53 PM
Retardedly intelligent
beavercreek,ohio
Joined Jan 2007
3,793 Posts
well this wasent me but a freind went to some swap meet in ohio and bought 8 or 10 IPS-50 brushed motors for 10 DOLLORS damn I missed out on a great deal.... instead I paid about 85 dollors on the direct drive ones for my goose
foam and tape is online now Find More Posts by foam and tape
Old Feb 28, 2008, 07:17 PM
Joined Jun 2004
228 Posts
At the NW hobby expo I found a mega 22/30/3 with a pheonix 35 for $60! I was pretty stoked.
oceansfiftyseve is offline Find More Posts by oceansfiftyseve
Old Feb 28, 2008, 08:45 PM
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined Nov 2000
6,251 Posts
I have found over the years:
VK Fokker Triplane ($25)
VK Nieuport 17 ($30)
Pica Waco YMF5 1/6 scale ($50)
Master Kit Sorrel Hyperbipe ($45)