HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 27, 2008, 04:09 PM
Philadelphia, PA
Joined Jan 2008
167 Posts
Build Log
Sterling "Classic Dual Cockpit Mahogany Runabout" - First Time Build

Hi Guys,

I found a Sterling "Classic Dual-Cockpit Mahogany Runabout" on eBay. I went ahead and got it because it seems much easier than the Dumas models because of its one-piece deck and mahogany side and bottom skins. So far the build has gone great, and I purchased the package from M.A.C.K. designed for the model. Luckily they still had one. It would be great to hear your feedback and suggestions, and I'd especially like to hear from anyone who has built this model before or has pictures of their completed model. Just keep in mind that I'm 18 and its my first build .

-Kyle
kylewp is offline Find More Posts by kylewp
Last edited by kylewp; Feb 27, 2008 at 04:47 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2008, 05:20 PM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,127 Posts
Hi Kyle,

Wow, I would say you are doing a great job so far! I know a lot of old geezers on here are getting all sentimental right now that an 18 year old is actually building a model instead of buying an RTR!!
Kmot is online now Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Feb 27, 2008, 05:26 PM
Philadelphia, PA
Joined Jan 2008
167 Posts
How 'bout this for some extra power?

(just kidding )
Last edited by kylewp; Mar 18, 2008 at 11:55 AM.
Old Feb 27, 2008, 10:46 PM
Boats on the brain!!
Arnold, Mo.
Joined Jul 2005
4,566 Posts
Sorry but a Cox .049 just ain't gonna be big enough.
green-boat is offline Find More Posts by green-boat
Old Feb 28, 2008, 10:15 AM
N.E.Mass.
Joined Apr 2007
3,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by green-boat
Sorry but a Cox .049 just ain't gonna be big enough.
Mostly because it does'nt run very well under water!!
charlie eaton is offline Find More Posts by charlie eaton
Old Feb 28, 2008, 10:22 AM
N.E.Mass.
Joined Apr 2007
3,063 Posts