HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 19, 2008, 08:59 PM
K4UAV
Miami, FL
Joined Jul 2003
1,749 Posts
Discussion
Another twin boom pusher - spud

After wanting a twin boom pusher for some time, and reading someone say "Just cut some wood, dammit!" I decided to do just that. This design is heavily inspired from KD7OST's (Dan) twin boom pusher. Basically, it is his general dimensions but only 60% of the size and shortened a bit more as well. Since he photographs potato farms (amoung other more interesting things) I decided to name it 'spud'.

Since I have no design experience whatsoever, but I think I am a pretty good kit builder, I ventured into the world of scratch building. I took a rib from a herr cloud ranger and built a 60" wing with mostly carbon spars. The control surfaces have tyvek hinges sandwiched between 1/16 balsa.

I shortened the design considerably as I want my digital camera to sit in the nose so it needs to be closer to the wing, which then makes the tail need to come a little closer to get the CG where is should be. Will this make her overly pitch sensitve, I dunno, I'll have to wait and see. Will she even fly, I hope so. An Axi 2814/12 will be doing the pushin' with a 10-12 x 5-6 prop. 3 cell lipo somewhere between 2100 and 4200mah, a digital camera, video tx, and autopilot will be the payload. Here is where I am so far...

Any thoughts, suggestions, words of advice are appreciated. If neccessary, I can increase the length of the booms and/or make a new fuse (it is after all, just a box).

-dave
dalbert02 is offline Find More Posts by dalbert02
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2008, 09:07 PM
K4UAV
Miami, FL
Joined Jul 2003
1,749 Posts
I just put in the camera (Nikon 3700) and she balances right on the main spar. Granted I need to add the motor, esc, batteries etc., but since the fuse is so big, battery placement should be able to compendate for a large number of configurations.