SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 18, 2011, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Bob, I too mounted to the motor mount and added 6" to the ESC leads for easy battery connection. You get nice air flow with this set up. What motor are you using with that 60 amp?

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 18, 2011, 01:26 PM
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Vernon, BC, Canada
Joined Dec 2000
2,897 Posts
You can extend the motor leads. I have used a switch/shunt to go between the battery & ESC It adds about 5" length & saves the contacts from spark damage. The switch part can be externally mounted; but I just leave it loose.
DavidN is offline Find More Posts by DavidN
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 02:42 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Many many thanks for the replies all!

Very much appreciated. I will extend the battery leads by about 6 inches.

Harry, I am using the Eflite Power 46?
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Bob, I know the 46 is recommended and some have used it but think it might be marginal for a 10lb. plane. I have a Power 60 in mine and by no means is it over powered. It flies very scale and has a bit extra if I get in trouble. Even the specs for the 46 say "for planes weighing 4-7lbs." I have read here that someone got his AUW to just under 9 lbs. and was happy with the 46. Mine is heavy. Hope I didn't confuse you.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 05:19 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry H View Post
Bob, I know the 46 is recommended and some have used it but think it might be marginal for a 10lb. plane. I have a Power 60 in mine and by no means is it over powered. It flies very scale and has a bit extra if I get in trouble. Even the specs for the 46 say "for planes weighing 4-7lbs." I have read here that someone got his AUW to just under 9 lbs. and was happy with the 46. Mine is heavy. Hope I didn't confuse you.

Harry
Many thanks for that Harry.

Appreciate the advice. If I were to put the Eflite Power 60 in my Pawnee what length would the stand offs have to be?

Thinking this might be the way to go.
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob1959 View Post
Many thanks for that Harry.

Appreciate the advice. If I were to put the Eflite Power 60 in my Pawnee what length would the stand offs have to be?

Thinking this might be the way to go.

After flying today with the Pawnee, I would definitely go with the 60. You might be disappointed with it being underpowered. I cut off about a 1/4" from the standoffs and can measure in the next day or so.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 05:48 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry H View Post
After flying today with the Pawnee, I would definitely go with the 60. You might be disappointed with it being underpowered. I cut off about a 1/4" from the standoffs and can measure in the next day or so.

Harry
Thanks very much for that Harry. Will go with the 60.

Bob
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 07:30 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Bob, I cut off 7/16" from the standoffs. I would check before you use my reference and also wish I used one of these http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=EFLM1934 I really don't like the collet adaptors. This adaptor might change the shortening of the standoffs. I have an eflite 2 1/4" alum. spinner that has a collet as part of it and its very easy to strip and they don't sell that separately.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 07:51 PM
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Vernon, BC, Canada
Joined Dec 2000
2,897 Posts
I think the E60 ships with that in the box.
DavidN is offline Find More Posts by DavidN
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 08:09 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
I just checked the E60 box and it has what seems to be the standard prop adaptor that compresses on to the shaft.

I am trying to picture where those 3 bolts on the adaptor in Harrys link fix to? Would there be a great advantage to using one of these?

Sorry for all the questions but I am pretty new to this stuff.

Thanks,

Bob

Also, the overall length of the E46 is 55mm whilst the E60 is 62mm so I figure if I cut 7mm off the standoffs I should be ok. (hopefully).
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 08:57 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Bob, it bolts directly to the motor, much more solid way to put a prop on and much easier. I have other 60 clones that came with the bolt on adaptor and feel it is way more secure. For me, it is easy to over-tighten the collet adaptors and wonder with a larger prop if it is on good. Call me paranoid.

Photo of E60 with bolt on here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=977010

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 09:18 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Thanks again Harry.

All is clear now. I have ordered a couple of these and will fit one when they arrive.

Bob
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 04:32 AM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Harry, one more question mate.

I have now fitted the Power 60. Should I be looking at somethig bigger than a 60 amp esc or will it still be ok?

Thanks,

Bob
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 10:01 AM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob1959 View Post
Harry, one more question mate.

I have now fitted the Power 60. Should I be looking at somethig bigger than a 60 amp esc or will it still be ok?

Thanks,

Bob
I would go bigger. That motor is rated for max 60 amps and with a 16x10 or 15x8 prop on 6S, I pull around 58 amps at WOT. I use a Castle Creations Ice 100 which is a little over kill but I would go with at least a 80 amp. The 15x8 is a really good prop with 6S. I am using 6S 6000 and getting 20-22 minutes of flight time. Just changed to a 16x10 that works better (with added weight and height of new landing gear) and getting 15-18 min.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Last edited by Harry H; Sep 21, 2011 at 10:06 AM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 02:40 PM
Old Fart
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2011
170 Posts
Many thanks again Harry.

Will pick up an 80 amp esc to be on the safe side.

Bob
Bob1959 is offline Find More Posts by Bob1959
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New EPP Super Zoom 4D from SoaringUSA.com build thread hybris 3D Foamies 2467 May 09, 2012 08:24 PM
MicroBipe from Dynamoelectrics.com - Build Thread badbill Parkflyers 116 May 28, 2008 05:48 PM
Micro Flash (from MiBo Modeli) Build Thread Neil Walker Electric Sailplanes 45 Jul 04, 2005 12:38 AM
NIB Hangar 9 Piper Cub 80" WING RJ Reinhard Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 May 27, 2003 03:07 PM