HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 13, 2008, 12:13 AM
Joined Jul 2007
80 Posts
Discussion
Recommendations for a EZ*(or other) FPV/UAV design for Public Safety/LEO usage

Hi All,
OK I have been ghosting these forums since july (learning) and I have been designing UAV software since 5 years ago.

What I am seeking is a list of recommendations for equipment/practices/safety for developing a UAV for eventual deployment by public safety employees/LEO in the SFO bay area.

Certain design parameters have already surfaced.

1. Design weight below 5 lbs in case of collision with LEO/NGO helicraft.(ie designed to self destruct harmlessly).

2. Construction of EPP/Elapor etc due to reason #1 above.

3. Awareness of Published FAA flight aids in production of flight plans(synthetic vision)(Open eagle and others)

4.use of frequency agile / Software defined radio for all tx/rx onboard, to facilitate experimentation as a hobby activity privately under US FCC Amateur rule while retain the ability to convert for commercial licensing with simple reprogramming.

5. easy repair ie use of Hot Glue hobby guns instead of exotic adhesives
(mean epp/elapor/PVC fab possibly others)

6. crash worthiness ie final approach is to fly within 2 feet of ground level then use flaps and reverse prop pitch to intentionally stall/crash in a small area.

7. use of paparazzi/other GPL autopilot software or rudder home OSD designs.

8. cost below 1.5k in production ,sales cost less than 3k(1 up).(standard formula)(and to encourage others to vend/support their local Public safety organizations with this design)
(twin boom PVC UAV Here I come!!!).

9. GPL design for all results(to encourage open adoption)! and easy duplication.

10. YOUR INPUT!!!

kind regards
gwen hastings
ps let the flame wars begin!!!
gwenhastings is offline Find More Posts by gwenhastings
Last edited by gwenhastings; Feb 13, 2008 at 12:20 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2008, 12:53 AM
Lakewood, Colorado