HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:06 PM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by planebldr View Post
...

On a side note....does anyone have a moto calc or similar program with a Aeolian 6364 370KV motor in it? I've looked at a few other calculators around and none of them have that KV motor in the list. I'm trying to get an idea whether 10s or 12s is the way to go. Its in the Seagull Mew Gull....don't have the ESC yet...it should be here end of the week (its a 100A). I would like to get the most speed out of it if possible

Specs are Rotational Speed: 400 (kv) RPM/V
Continuous Current: 100A
Max. Current: 120A
Input Voltage: 14.8 - 37V
Max. Efficiency: 98%
No Load Current: 7.5A
Internal Resistance: 110(Omega)
Power: 2725W
Motor Weight : 860g
Motor Dimensions (Diameter x Length): 63mm x 61mm
Propeller Dimensions: 18.5" x 12"/19" x 10"/20" x 8 "
Input Battery Types: NiCd/ Nimh/ Li-po Battery
Recommend Model: Airplane


...
I'm a bit confused on the motor. Aeolian 6364 370KV doesnt exist that I see, but the 270kv does.

http://www.aeolianmotor.com/

If it is a 270kv, and on 10S, a 16x16 would be 90A peak and 130mph PS and 11lbs of Static thrust (more dynamic thrust available).

12S on 14x14 prop would be 10.5lbs thrust at 145mph PS at 75A
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Yeah....that's why I can't find any on the calculators either. Maybe a new motor??

This is the same...not where I got mine but it is available....
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Aeolian-2012...item1c261dcf79
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:21 PM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
I ran a search and the only references for that motor is the one seller on eBay and a seller on RCU. I don't know what to tell you, seems to be mislabeled, but you won't know until you get it.

Here is the eCalc I ran on it per specs given...

And FYI, the resistance doesn't seem right to me. It says 110, but I haven't seen any of these type of motors having .011 resistance (rebranded XYH / Turnigy / etc...), seems too low, makes the minimum prop a 10x4? No way.

I put in .11 resistance, but that puts it at 60% efficiency, that doesn't sound right either. Something doesn't add up.
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Last edited by mattyhawk; Apr 30, 2012 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:41 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
I have the motor....but not the ESC. The box the motor came in said 370KV as well. It looks to be the same as the Monster Power series motors or EMP. It has the rough black can, but the bearing race is completely different than I'm used to seeing. It is VERY large. Of course the whole motor is huge....probably overkill I do have a 14X14 pattern prop I will probably try on 8s, then 10s, and maybe 12s depending on the watt meter. Its just weird I can't find any info on it......
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 09:25 AM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
I was trying to figure out where I saw it, but since HK took down all their SK motors, I can't find it. The bearing looks the same as the 6374 Aerodrive SK series from last year, only the color and end caps are different.

You should do a no load test on it and get a rough estimate for KV. If not, you'll find out when you spin it up with a prop the first time on a Watt meter. Good luck with the build.
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 06:29 PM
This is my Nemesis....
ViperZ's Avatar
Canada, SK, Saskatoon
Joined Jan 2011
2,008 Posts
Wow! Thats a big assed motor!
ViperZ is offline Find More Posts by ViperZ
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2012, 09:01 AM
Registered User
Branford, Florida
Joined Jun 2010
602 Posts
Another question for you guys. Although I have read the enitre thread I don't recall much discussion on the CG. Does the listed CG as specified in the manual fly well or should it be changed? Planning the maiden on saturday and dont want any surprises.
TIA, Chris
ACKopter is offline Find More Posts by ACKopter
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2012, 10:11 AM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,495 Posts
I typically fly with 6s 4000 and 6s 5000 batteries, with both I push them all the way forward about 1mm shy of the firewall.
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Snuggles Speaks
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2012, 01:49 PM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACKopter View Post
Another question for you guys. Although I have read the enitre thread I don't recall much discussion on the CG. Does the listed CG as specified in the manual fly well or should it be changed? Planning the maiden on saturday and dont want any surprises.
TIA, Chris
The CG in the manual worked for me.
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Branford, Florida
Joined Jun 2010
602 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyhawk View Post
The CG in the manual worked for me.
Sounds good then, I'll dial it in as specified.
ACKopter is offline Find More Posts by ACKopter
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2012, 09:00 AM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian_M View Post
Well said matty
I dusted down the SD 50 last night after not using it for 6 months or so and will take it to the field this weekend for a fly after charging my battery packs i noticed that one of my nanotech has puffed up not really sure why it's been sitting on store charge since then
It will be the first time i fly this plane with my new radio, DX8 running High-speed 11ms frame rate with 2048 resolution
It will be interesting to see how it feels

Adrian, How did the flight go?
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2012, 03:46 PM
Suspended Account
Auckland - New Zealand
Joined Dec 2010
1,554 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyhawk View Post
Adrian, How did the flight go?
Hi matty the flight was fine,still getting used to the DX8,it feels so different to my trusted JR-X3810 and the throttle on the DX8 seems to be way too sensitive i might have to run some throttle mix
Adrian_M is offline Find More Posts by Adrian_M
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 08, 2012, 08:58 AM
Fill'er Up!
mattyhawk's Avatar
Oxnard, Ca
Joined Oct 2008
1,798 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian_M View Post
Hi matty the flight was fine,still getting used to the DX8,it feels so different to my trusted JR-X3810 and the throttle on the DX8 seems to be way too sensitive i might have to run some throttle mix
I had the opportunity to fly the DX7s this last weekend, I wonder if it also has a similar latency as DX8. I fly a DX7 and the DX7s is much faster than mine. If the DX8 is faster than that, whoa, that would take some getting use to.
mattyhawk is offline Find More Posts by mattyhawk
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Well I had a chance to power up that motor today.....ummmmm don't think its gonna work for what I want. I had two props drilled up to that size shaft on hand....a 14X14 and a 18X10. On only 6s it was 85A on the 14X14 and just over 1000 watts, and over 100A (my watt meter only goes to 99.9A) and 2400watts on the 18X10. So....on 10 or 12s? maybe the 10X4 is correct afterall?? Anyway hope to take the black Sundowner out not this coming Sunday but the following. I haven't flown it yet and its killing me! I'll see if I can get someone to take video while I'm out. Our field is almost dry again after the 4" of rain.
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 03:40 PM
Carbon fiber is our friend
Steve C's Avatar
United States, CA, Lodi
Joined Feb 2001
4,225 Posts
If you're using a plug in type amp meter, then your motor could very easily pull more amps when it's not plugged in. Years ago I found this out with my F5D stuff when I decided to also tach the prop while testing. It turned a lot more rpm without the Watt meter plugged in, so I bought a clamp amp meter and found the amp draw to be quit a bit more than the watt meter was telling me.
Steve C is offline Find More Posts by Steve C
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Power system for Hangar 9 Sundowner 50 RB51 fan Power Systems 3 Apr 11, 2011 01:03 PM
Discussion hanger 9 sundowner 50 planefixer Fuel Plane Talk 57 Oct 26, 2010 07:59 AM
Cool Hanger 9 Sundowner 50 size cryhavoc38 Sport Planes 10 Feb 17, 2008 10:27 PM
Question Hangar 9 Sundowner 50? GJVO Fuel Plane Talk 0 Aug 23, 2007 02:38 PM
EDF 40/50 Brushless setups/results kd4gfy Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 0 Feb 20, 2005 03:11 PM