HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 11, 2008, 04:35 PM
I have to land it where?
Joined Jul 2005
14 Posts
Discussion
Catalina's over Dutch Harbor/How bad is salt water?

Hello all-

I work on a NOAA research ship, and we pull into Dutch Harbor, Alaska, fairly frequently. I'm considering getting one of those Great Planes PBY's to fly in Dutch on those (rare) windless summer mornings. I figure since so many PBy's operated out of Dutch during WWII, it'd be kinda neat to see one flying out there again! I'm an intermediate RC pilot, but this would be my first foray into float flying...

My question is, does anyone have experience float flying in salt water? It sounds sketchy to me. I figure I could waterproof the reciever and keep the servo's pretty dry, but I'd imagine the brushless motors would suck up some salt water. PBY flyers, do your motors get wet frequently? Can one put ESC's in plastic bags, or do they get too hot?

Any thoughts or suggestions? Rinsing the motors with a mist of freshwater after each flight?

Thanks
Bill
mokimakana is offline Find More Posts by mokimakana
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:52 AM
Trois-Rivieres
Joined Oct 2006
251 Posts
Hi.

Water proofing your rc equipment is required...salt-water or not...this is the base, or you run VERRRRY quick toward the problems. hahahahah

For sure, the brushless is more of keen to ingest H2O, but should do fine if you put some (soak it) hi-temp varnish on the windings prior to wet it. Only the bearings will require more frequents changes than usual (not that frequent).

The ESC can be completely sealed. You will have to fit a heatsink that will protrude thru the "new" ESC heatshrink tubing (longer one) that will be well sealed on both ends with hot glue or silicone. Put some to the shrink/heatsink junction too. And put a drop of cyano glue to the end of your antenna, or the water will sneek into it.

That should do it.

Keep posting updates on your project !

Youppi !