HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 09, 2008, 11:05 AM
United States, IN, Brownsburg
Joined Apr 2006
980 Posts
Discussion
Aquacraft Supervee 27 Brushless OR Proboat Blackjack 26 Brushless?

I'm a long time modeler, airplanes, cars and boats/sailboats. But, I've never had a FAST electric boat. Both of these boats come RTR with Brushless power. Both are the same price range. Both are cool lookin'.

Which one to buy?

I will often be running on a BIG lake with chop. That points me towards the cat-style Blackjack. But, I got a close look at the hardward and quality fiberglass hull of the Supervee at the hobby shop. I liked that better.

I'll be running with 4200 NiMH from my R/C cars.

What say you guys?

Scott
HelloScott is offline Find More Posts by HelloScott
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 09, 2008, 01:46 PM
Joined Nov 2005
1,617 Posts
while I'm getting to like cats(boats that is, the animals have owned me for years )... I'm not too keen on the bj's outdrive setup, those u-joints just don't cut it. I would say that if you want to race then the sv is the way to go...(for the moment). one should keep in mind that when talking about 30+mph boats there are few that can handle waves over say 2".
your batteries might be up to the task...for either boat they'll need to be able to handle a 45amp draw(continuous) and, have deans plugs installed. intercell connections should be battery bars, not the thin welded tabs. the sv27 does have some issues that need to be addressed before running(imo), since I haven't been keeping up on the bj I don't know if it has issues, however the forum over at offshoreelctrics has a section set aside for both boats(one for each). hth and welcome to the world of FE boats.
rex
Rex R is offline Find More Posts by Rex R
Old Feb 09, 2008, 03:04 PM
Joined Jan 2007
33 Posts
sv