Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 30, 2008, 08:56 PM
Memphis, TN
Joined Jul 2006
245 Posts
Build Log
GWS A-4 kit bash..... IAF A-4H single seat conversion!

This is my first build log, so go easy on me

When I saw GWS's A-4 prototype a long time ago, I knew I had to have it when they finally started shipping. Of course I am never happy with anything in it's stock form, so my ultimate GWS A-4 foamy EDF would be no exception. Here is the basic outline of what I will be trying to accomplish and the hardware I will use to make it fly much faster than GWS ever intended this chunk of foam to go !

The airframe:

* I have always admired the Israeli Air Force and for years they flew the A-4H extensively. I did some research and found some really great pics...so I chose to modify the GWS A-4 into a single seat A-4H model with a paint scheme from 1967, around the time of the Six-Day War.

* I will be setting this jet up to be as light as practical....as I will be hand-launching it.

* Since the inlet ducting is WAY oversized for the Minifan I will be using, the inlets will be cut-down to not only reduce drag, but make the jet more scale in appearence....more on that later. I will be also be making full fiberglass inlet ducting for maximum EDF efficiency.

* For strength and ding resistance I will be glassing the whole airframe with a single layer of .56 oz. glass.

* Paint will be custom mixed acrylic....cheap and simple to apply with a brush.

The powerplant:

* My tried and true Wemotec minifan with an ARC 28-47-2 motor running on a 7S, 2100mah lipo set-up. This gives me right at 880 watts, 50 oz. static thrust, and 8 minutes of mixed flying. My outlet is set-up for 80% of FSA. This is a great power package....I recommend it to anyone!

* Suppo 70 amp ESC.....it's way cheap, but has performed flawlessly to date.

Matt

niner555 is offline Find More Posts by niner555
Last edited by niner555; Jan 30, 2008 at 11:49 PM.
to remove ads between posts