HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 25, 2008, 08:02 AM
Texas Buzzard
McAllen,Texas
Joined Mar 2004
1,034 Posts
Discussion
Selecting an EDF/motor for 1st "JET"

EDF power is new to me, although I've been flying RC ( glow & electric) for many years.

I am trying to select an EDF power unit that has between 12 and 20 ounces of thrust. I estimate my scratch-built "trainer jet" will weigh 17 to 20 ounces ready to fly.

I have been looking at Hobby-Lobbies Fan EDF 60/15 Mk2 3 blade spun by a Jetscreamer MMH550 w/ extention 3500 kv.( inrunner) ( about $105)

Also HL has an outrunner 3500 kv MT2235 mated to Fan MT1028 66mm fan. (about $85)

Are these units made to just sell, or will they do the job of pushing my 18 ounce/230 sq. in. airplane with reliability? I just want to fly a ducted fan powered job at maybe 45 to 55 mph.

Yes I have looked at "Ducted Fans.com ". Any advice is welcome, thanks.
Texas Buzzard is offline Find More Posts by Texas Buzzard
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 25, 2008, 08:16 AM
orlando fl
Joined Oct 2000
5,713 Posts
what size is the inlet area?

Depending on that you should get the largest size fan you can that will fit the plan (i am assuming an interal fan not a pod)

you are shooting for inlet area about the same as the area of the fan.

outlet area should be about 90% of inlet area

Smooth ducting (not hard turns, gradual changes in tapers, no junk in airway) is important and can make or brake a jet performance.

If not using ducting, the the fan should have an inlet lip installed to at least smooth the flow into the fan.
dave morris is offline Find More Posts by dave morris
Old Jan 25, 2008, 09:41 AM
Houston
Joined Jan 2002
642 Posts
welcome, another Texan to EDFs, I been flying propeller planes for a long time, pick up EDF last year and never look back on my air screw plane again.