HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 26, 2009, 04:30 PM
RC Airliner Man
brett1984's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dudley
Joined May 2007
444 Posts
started on the 737-500

hi guys started to cut out the nose of the 737 today, rather than print a large plan i just put each former in cad to plot on to A4 size paper, and just cut it out and traced around. saves sticking paper together. i.e tile print.

since uploading the plan ive worked on it more to make somebits slot together, the pic showing the nose is held together with no glue just sloted. i will of corse add glue when i put it together i just wanted to slot it togehter to see how it looked and i pleased.

im trying to build this model with out having to have a plan as i can take measurements from my cad drawing and transfer it to the model, will update more tomorrow.
brett1984 is offline Find More Posts by brett1984
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 26, 2009, 11:11 PM
Real name's Teja :)
teha99's Avatar
USA, NJ, East Brunswick
Joined May 2008
1,388 Posts
Nice! Those lights are amazing!

Cool a foamy 737!
teha99 is offline Find More Posts by teha99
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2009, 10:29 AM
RC Airliner Man
brett1984's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dudley
Joined May 2007
444 Posts
little 737-500

Quote:
Originally Posted by teha99
Nice! Those lights are amazing!

Cool a foamy 737!
hi teja, have not worked on the big 737, but for you ive started a little 737-500. after looking at the thread small foamy edf 737-500 , i liked what i saw, so i wanted one small for my gws edf 50's,

my design specs.

a length of 748mm,
span 800mm wing span,
power will be gws edf 50's but should be able to fit gws 40's if you like.
simple construction, from 3mm depron, and little balsa for wing spar,
might fit undercarriage.

what do you think????
brett1984 is offline Find More Posts by brett1984
Last edited by brett1984; Sep 29, 2009 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2009, 05:19 PM
Real name's Teja :)
teha99's Avatar
USA, NJ, East Brunswick
Joined May 2008
1,388 Posts
Nice that looks so cool, I want to build right now! I think it is awesome. Thanks for putting so much of your time into this I appreciate it.

This would be ok?
http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=4180

or with brushless motors?

If easier, what power system would you use? lol

Thanks
Teja
teha99 is offline Find More Posts by teha99
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2009, 04:41 AM
Osprey Wanna Be Hobbiest
Osprey WannaB's Avatar
Mt Larcom, Queensland, Australia
Joined Feb 2006
143 Posts
i've just started building the 747 out of balsa... my first scratch build.. and all i know is it took me 4-6 hours and i only have half of the right side of the wing built. im still unsurre wat engines i will use, but these plans are awesome.. good to work with. just wish i had better skills with building like u guys do with foamies. im thinking of cheating and building it with balsa framing and then use foam to cover it.
Osprey WannaB is offline Find More Posts by Osprey WannaB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2009, 04:12 PM
Real name's Teja :)
teha99's Avatar
USA, NJ, East Brunswick
Joined May 2008
1,388 Posts
Trust me youre probably better at it than me. This was my first buld also, the plans are simple to use.

For the 737, would it be better to use the top viw as the base or the side view? I am thinking top view because it will be easier to have the cockpit already cut out right?


Also, how much flying experience would I need for the the 737? I can fly a twinstar 2. Is that enough skills? Because if yes, then I can buy some qualiy electronics for a little bigger 737 for christmas.

Thanks,
Teja
teha99 is offline Find More Posts by teha99
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2009, 06:27 PM
RC Airliner Man
brett1984's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dudley
Joined May 2007
444 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teha99
Trust me youre probably better at it than me. This was my first buld also, the plans are simple to use.

For the 737, would it be better to use the top viw as the base or the side view? I am thinking top view because it will be easier to have the cockpit already cut out right?


Also, how much flying experience would I need for the the 737? I can fly a twinstar 2. Is that enough skills? Because if yes, then I can buy some qualiy electronics for a little bigger 737 for christmas.

Thanks,
Teja
hi teja, when you say base, do you mean build over a plan?? when i design my plans i try not to use a plan to build over, i like to design a parts sheet with all the bits i need to build the plane then build it of the plan. i try and design so i can slot bits together.

for example the little 737, the cock pit/nose area there are 4 pieces to cut out and these all slide togehter no need to build over the plan, then you would sheet the nose with 3mm depron. there is no need to build over the plan you can do it in your hands. do you get me???

im going to be posting 2 plans 1 is the actual plan top/side/front views, and the other a parts sheet. as ive designed the pieces to slot together i will only need the parts sheet printed to build the model.
brett1984 is offline Find More Posts by brett1984
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2009, 06:40 PM
Real name's Teja :)
teha99's Avatar
USA, NJ, East Brunswick
Joined May 2008
1,388 Posts
Awesome! All the pieces slot together?!? It will be like building wit lego blocks. lol

I use some foam boards from the dollar store, they are 3mm depron with a colored sticker covering that is really hard to get off. And i use hot glue for the joints. do you gusy use foam safe CA? Where do you get your depron?
teha99 is offline Find More Posts by teha99
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2009, 07:14 PM
Registered User
Christchurch, New Zealand
Joined Jun 2006
6,794 Posts
Weldbond PVA is a great Depron glue. Use sparingly, and it takes a long time to set unfortunately. Hot glue is way too heavy.
Andrew McGregor is offline Find More Posts by Andrew McGregor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2009, 05:29 AM
Joined Aug 2009
12 Posts
Hey guys,

Wowwww i see much progression on the 737... nice work...

Sorry i wasn't online much... very very busy with buying a house etc... so my time is consumed by other things than planes ...

Still haven't done the maiden... 1st attemped failed at the gear...
My nosegear didn't hold on the grass and damaged 1 motor. Repaired it allready but did made my retracts fixed for the 2nd atempt.

Maybe my next attempt will be on concrete... have to find the right location... our field is only grass.
DvMourik is offline Find More Posts by DvMourik
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2009, 01:46 PM
RC Airliner Man
brett1984's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dudley
Joined May 2007
444 Posts
new thread for the 737-500

hi guys started making the decal for the 747, as you can see im going with britsh airways.hers the link for the 737-500


737
brett1984 is offline Find More Posts by brett1984
Last edited by brett1984; Oct 06, 2009 at 02:33 PM. Reason: britsh airways decals
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2009, 03:34 PM
Registered User
in eygpt
Joined Sep 2009
74 Posts
well,
Ihave one question:
Ihave abrushless 920kv , 11x4.3 prop and 30amp esc
if I use those in the 747 are they can to fly it?
thanks
slloom is offline Find More Posts by slloom
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2009, 03:52 PM
Globemaster Maiden Time
KoziFlyer's Avatar
Melbourne
Joined Jun 2007
1,058 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slloom
well,
Ihave one question:
Ihave abrushless 920kv , 11x4.3 prop and 30amp esc
if I use those in the 747 are they can to fly it?
thanks

Nope. Your ESC will probably fry. The prop pitch is too low to produce enough thrust. It all depends on the weight of your plane also.

The 920kV is a good motor for rear propulsion (i.e mounted on the back of the plane). Just be careful when you launch it not to cut yourself with the prop. You will not be able to take off from the ground (i.e with undercarriage) without the prop hitting it.

Try a 11x6 prop with a 60Amp ESC and 4S battery. I flew my 747 with a rear prop with the 11x6 and it flew well, had enough power.
KoziFlyer is offline Find More Posts by KoziFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 05:24 AM
Registered User
in eygpt
Joined Sep 2009
74 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoziFlyer
Nope. Your ESC will probably fry. The prop pitch is too low to produce enough thrust. It all depends on the weight of your plane also.

The 920kV is a good motor for rear propulsion (i.e mounted on the back of the plane). Just be careful when you launch it not to cut yourself with the prop. You will not be able to take off from the ground (i.e with undercarriage) without the prop hitting it.

Try a 11x6 prop with a 60Amp ESC and 4S battery. I flew my 747 with a rear prop with the 11x6 and it flew well, had enough power.
so,
IMust use large prop to more thrust

Ihave 2200 mah 3s battery only

look:


Ihave just one Edf 30Amp and 400 gram thrust it can,t to thrust the 747

Iwas think put the one Edf under the rudder but the 747 it will be havy on the edf


Excuse me because I do not write English well
thanks
slloom is offline Find More Posts by slloom
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 05:32 AM
Registered User
in eygpt
Joined Sep 2009
74 Posts
I Understand from you Imost provide the length of the pillars of the wheels

becuse the tail not Encounter
of the ground.
also this aircraft have three engines
slloom is offline Find More Posts by slloom
Last edited by slloom; Oct 10, 2009 at 11:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Plug in removable wings for depron park jets ram3500-rcu Pusher Prop Jet Models 22 Feb 12, 2006 07:23 PM
Question Searching plan for depron impeller jet / Or building Steves f18 with an impeller??? German_wing Foamies (Kits) 1 Jan 24, 2005 08:34 AM
Question Plan for depron jet trainer RicoJ Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 5 Nov 03, 2004 02:09 AM
Missing wing ribs in Corsair plan... Please help. NetForce2K Parkflyers 1 May 09, 2003 09:12 PM
Need a plan converted from dwg to dxf dirtdiver Electric Plane Talk 1 Feb 27, 2003 09:12 PM