HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 03, 2001, 03:26 PM
Pleasanton, California
Joined Nov 2000
713 Posts
Twin Star stock motors, what are they??

I have looked through a lot of posts..and I cant find any reference to just what the stock motors are. Are they 6V speed 400 graupner type...are they Permax?

I have the plane..no motors (long story) and was planning on using 6V speed 400 motors, with 8 cell 14-2000 mah packs (and the stock props).....(would a 35 amp speed controller be ok?)

I dont want a rocket ship (I'm pretty new at e flight)...just a twin i can putz around with. I have heard sooo many good things about the Twin Star. I am familiar all the mods suggested.

I appreciate any comments!
rpm3 is online now Find More Posts by rpm3
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 03, 2001, 04:11 PM
Indianapolis, IN USA
Joined Nov 2000
2,305 Posts
They are 6V 380 series, made by mabuchi. Same as 6V speed 400.
Ralph Weaver is offline Find More Posts by Ralph Weaver
Old Jun 03, 2001, 08:02 PM
Austin, Texas USA
Joined Mar 2001
848 Posts
The stock motors are Speed 400 6V. Permax, Graupner, whatever. They are the same. They should pull no more than 30 amps together, so 35 amp ESC will be fine. I use a 35 amp ESC in mine with no problems. I upgraded the motors to Speed 480 because they are a little more efficient and can handle more power later on when I want it.
But... The stock motors provide very good performance with the stock props and setup, especially with 8 cells.
Enjoy!

Shawn
Eflightpower.com
sf_247 is offline Find More Posts by sf_247
Old Jun 04, 2001, 06:16 PM
Oxford(ish), England
Joined Feb 2001
389 Posts
Stock motors are Multiplex Permax 400. Perfectly good motor, and very cheap. Most 400's or even 480's will work if you can't get the permax or want more performance, it flies perfectly well on most "cooking" 400's and this is probably the best place to start for a beginner (the slower it flies, the slower it crashes!)