Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:32 AM
Aging Metalhead
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Nov 2007
53 Posts
Discussion
Rudder servo linkage question + essential V32K info

Sorry to bother with a total noob question, but I'd like an opinion or two before I botch things up.
I have a question about how to link a servo to my rudder. I'm working on a V32K but this seems to be a fairly general linkage.

There's no mention of the rudder servo on the assembly instructions. That wouldn't be a problem if this wasn't my first boat, or if I had ever looked inside one. No pics of this area that I could find on the web either.

So I've got a Futaba 3003 on the radio board with a little arm. The rudder also has an arm. Included in the kit is a rod with a clevis fitting on one end.

I'm thinking the clevis should go at the servo so I can remove it easily if neccesary.
Now the other end...do I just ream out the holes on the rudder arm to fit the rod, then cut and bend the rod into some sort of hook arrangement? Or is there supposed to be some sort of fitting to grip the rod?

Scratching my head on this one. Once I cut the rod there's no going back. Anyone have a clue for sale?
stubobb is offline Find More Posts by stubobb
Last edited by stubobb; Jan 22, 2008 at 11:11 PM. Reason: Got some great 'off topic' info, also to aid in searches
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:51 AM
Footy USA 30
Joined Apr 2005
117 Posts
I'd recommend using a Du-Bro E/Z Connector (like those shown here). They allow easy adjustment for that last little bit of centering of the rudder. Even a tiny offset of the rudder has serious repercussions in boat speed.

These are readily available at your LHS.

--Doug
DougHemi is offline Find More Posts by DougHemi
Old Jan 22, 2008, 10:06 AM
Aging Metalhead
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Nov 2007
53 Posts