SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
This thread is privately moderated by Diggs, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 17, 2008, 12:15 AM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
Discussion
Where did that year go?

So it is been more than a year since I posted here last. Just a few changes since then I really gave the helis a go, but the stress and the repairs just didn't suit my style. I was actually close to ditching the entire RC hobby when Red Herring suggested I fly a plane to help with orientation. Well, I had no desire to fly a plane, but I started practicing on my sim at the time Phoenix.

A week or so later I have a pair of GWS Slow Sticks ready to fly. I had no clue what I was doing then, and some will argue that I still don't My father and I spent a Saturday building them and fighting the very poorly translated instructions. Victory was ours many hours later and we had one Tan and one Yellow SS ready. Sunday we go to the field (at the time a subdivision under construction) and give it a go. We both crashed and burned after just a few moments of flight. Back to the house, ordered up some new props and discovered the SS thread. Ordered some prop savers and went for it again about a week later.

My father has still yet to fly I think his vision prevents him from being able too, but I am still hopeful. I was able to fly that next trip, however landing was a different story. I didn't know about how prop size affected current draw or any of that and paid the price. Finally went brushless and also added a Parkzone Typhoon to my fleet. Came home after about the 3rd or 4th trip to the field and realized I didn't need to do ANY repairs. Well, not with the planes. Each trip still yielded heli disasters and tedious follow up repairs.