SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 06, 2008, 09:24 AM
Joined Oct 2005
65 Posts
Discussion
EF Edge, Extra, or Yak???

Hi Guys,

I'm a rank noob when it comes to electric planes (mostly fly turbine jets and helis). I think I have whittled the selection down to one of the EF planes because I like the complete combo setup. Nothing is left to chance. But I don't know which one. Which is the nicest flying, most neutral airframe that still retains decent 3d ability?

Bascially, what I am asking, is what is the ultimate 3S1P plane available?
Jeremy300 is offline Find More Posts by Jeremy300
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2008, 09:32 AM
Don't lie to my dog.
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,075 Posts
I don't know the Edge or Yak, but the Extra (47") is a great flying airplane. Very light, very stable, excellent 3D. However, the tail surfaces are a little thin and need reinforcement.
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Old Jan 06, 2008, 12:13 PM
I used to be all thumbs...
United States, KS, Pittsburg
Joined Mar 2005
7,061 Posts
Extreme Flight has some great planes, and all of them sure fly VERY well, but if your asking for the "Ultimate 3S1P Plane" I would have to say that you need to look at the 3DHobbyshop.com collection.

They have a 47" Yak, Katana, Extra SHP, and now a Velox. All of which fly extremely well on 3S 2100 packs.

Each of the birds has their own flying characteristics, but the Extra SHP and the Velox really shine. The Extra is perfect for a first balsa 3D plane and it's one that you will keep on hand LONG after you learn all the moves. I've had one in my hanger since the release, and will be replacing it with another if it ever gives out.

The Velox is the newest release from 3DH in the 47" market, and it is an absolute BLAST. On 3S the Velox likes to float around and is perfect for low flying 3D. It's rock solid in any attitude and will perform stunts that haven't been named yet.