Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 03, 2008, 04:14 PM
USA, OH, Lodi
Joined Nov 2005
182 Posts
Question
Motor doesn't run til half throttle on tx and what's this plug?

This may be vague but I only have limited knowledge of electric systems since I'm just getting into them. I bought this plane, an Ikarus Yak foamie, without testing it, at a swap meet.

What's happening is, when I advance the tx
throttle, the motor doesn't start moving until I reach half throttle, then it seems progressive up til full throttle. The tx advances my other 2 electrics normally with the same receiver, a small 72 mhz GWS 4 channel.

Rx is plugged into ch 3. The esc brand name is unknown since the sticker is missing but I was told it's a 10 amp and it's running a small rimfire outrunner.

Another strange thing is that the esc has got an extra 2 pin male plug coming out of the motor feed side of it. What's that?

Any help or test I can run to solve this problem would be appreciated. Thanks
expo is offline Find More Posts by expo
Last edited by expo; Jan 04, 2008 at 12:36 PM. Reason: Added a pic of the esc and plug
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2008, 05:56 PM
Don't leave it Stock
USA, IL, Round Lake
Joined Feb 2004
2,506 Posts
I'll give a shot at this one. The 2 pin connector is for 2cell or 3cell operation, most I've seen use a jumper on the pin for 2 cell and no jumper for 3 cell. this sets the LVC, low voltage cutoff.

Without knowing the radio, computer or what not, I believe your trims, subtrims or adjustments or outa wack on the radio. (check all the trim adjustments, epa's, atv's and such on channel 3 if its a computer radio.

Hope this helps.
mrfliboy is offline Find More Posts by mrfliboy
Old Jan 03, 2008, 07:42 PM
burdick,ks
Joined Feb 2003
171 Posts
Hi expo

What you may have is a Hobby Wing esc. When you first get them you have to decompress their throttle travel programing.