HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 29, 2007, 01:57 AM
Joined Mar 2007
3 Posts
Discussion
new racing boat hull - what engine, etc ??

Hi everyone,
I am relatively new to boats except for some electric ones, I am more of a plane man. However I have been given a pretty good looking hull and am keen to get it going. The thing is I am not sure of what engine to put in it, or anything about the weight distribution of the boat, what size prop, placement of prop, 1 or 2 props, how many blades on prop, etc. so I am really in need of your help ! any info would be much appreciated as I do not want to bugger up this nice lookin hull I have been given. I want to put a glow plug engine in it, I have a couple of aeroplane ones lying around but from looking on the net it's not worth mucking around with the watercooled head conversion and all that so i think I'l buy a proper marine engine for it, but I would like to use my electric starter for the aeroplane to start it cos I have had nothing but trouble with pull starts in the past. Is it possible to use electric starter on a boat ? Also I see that most boats use a flexible shaft inside metal tubing, is this the best way to go ? what do you use to lubricate the shaft ?

Basically I want to make the boat go fast and have some good fun with it, so if anyone could tell me some good tips for getting it going it would be much appreciated.

Here is the specs for the hull:

length: 88 cm (34.5 ")
width: 31.5 cm (approx 1 ft)
made of fibreglass

have a look at the attached pics and tell me what you reckon would be the best idea to get it running nicely for optimum performance. Also any info on what type of boat ir is would be great.

By the way, as I am after all the running gear for this boat if you have anything that you think would be suitable I would consider any offers to purchase bits and peices from you.

Thanks heaps everyone. Andrew.
shappo is offline Find More Posts by shappo
to remove ads between posts