Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 24, 2007, 07:46 AM
Joined Apr 2007
34 Posts
Discussion
Suitable motor for 12ft thermal glider?

I'm looking for a suitable motor to launch a thermal glider which I am converting to electric. Without motor this 12 ft model weighs 5lb 10oz. The model will only require the motor to take it to thermal height, then hopefully not be used too much again in that flight.
I have considered a MVVS 4/6/1120 sport but it is pricey.
The other consideration is a Cyclon PR52 (750W). This is considerably cheaper but the retailer says it would suit the weight of the model.
I am new to electric flight, having been pure gliders for years. Advice please?
TIA
Cas141 is offline Find More Posts by Cas141
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2007, 09:05 AM
Bill Mohrbacher, MECA Fox Guy
Beaver Falls, PA
Joined Dec 2006
638 Posts
CAS141, I'll be watching this thread. I'm an old soaring retread, too. I have a 12' Astro Jeff and want to put an electric power pod on it. I haven't decided how to go yet. In all the data I've seen, 2 numbers stand out. First, Larry Dudeck, designer of electric ducted fans planes, says you need at thrust to weight ration of AT LEAST .33:1 for a handlaunched plane. Next, Bob Aberle had a table in MA which said for a powered sailplane, your setup had to produce 40-50 watts per pound.

This year I had scaled up an old Jetex PAAload design, the Peter Pan from FM. With the original setup, it produced 7.9 oz of thrust and weighed 18 oz for a thrust/weight of .44. It was capable of ROG and a steady, but not spectacular climb so Larry number seemed correct. My fan metered 49 watts (11.1V x 4.4 amps), my setup used 43 watts/pound. Bob's numbers were also correct.