HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 30, 2007, 04:38 AM
Joined Dec 2005
189 Posts
Discussion
My LiPo lesson

Hi all,
I have a Trex 600 and four UH 4100 mAH 6 cell packs (purchased brand new for me by a friend that has a UH account)

Here is how my wake-up call came to me.

I have been extremely happy with my UH batteries to date. (I also have six 3 cell 2200 mAH packs and they are great performers.)

So, I flew my Trex 600 four times yesterday, each flight timed to end at five minutes, as I have been doing for the past three months without any problems.

Each pack was warm to the touch upon removal from my heli.

Called it a day and went home about 3 in the afternoon. Unpacked the car and placed my four now very cool battery packs on a piece of 6mm glass adjacent to my battery charger. The batteries were simply left alone. Not charging, not discharging. Just idle.

Went about some other messing about and went to bed about 10pm. 4 battery packs still laying on a piece of glass. Totally idle.

Wake this morning, "beautiful day, might go put some batteries on charge for a fly later". Go into workshop to find one pack had overheated and been smouldering all night. Fortunately the glass prevented any damage but I dread to think had the pack rolled off the glass! The possibilities are FRIGHTENING!

I have always been careful when charging my packs, I use a UH firebag. Always stay closeby etc but I have never heard of a LiPo just melting down 7 hours after use. I did not consider my batteries at risk because they were cool and idle.

Anyway, lessons for us all;

1. Always treat these batteries as dangerous , not just when they are chargng or discharging.

2. Install a smoke detector with remote caution. ie. so you can hear it from all parts of the house.

I'm feeling very humble and sheepish now. I feel dreadful for endangering our home and each other. All my Lipos are away from the house now!

This can happen to you so please, do be very thoughtful.