SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 28, 2007, 04:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2003
107 Posts
Discussion
Imax B6 temp sense probe

Hi,

Anybody tried diy B6 temp. probe? I think LM335 should work.


Regards
hadihf is offline Find More Posts by hadihf
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2008, 01:21 PM
Registered abUser
serioussam's Avatar
Queensland, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
14 Posts
Anyone ?!

I think it's either the LM335, or possibly the LM35.

I've got an LM35 on order with a bunch of other stuff, so I'll give it a try when I get it. If it works I'll let you know.

Sam.
serioussam is offline Find More Posts by serioussam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 08:30 AM
Registered abUser
serioussam's Avatar
Queensland, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
14 Posts
IMAX B6 Temperature Sensor -> LM35

Just tested the LM35 (not LM335) and it works well. Wiring diagram attached.
serioussam is offline Find More Posts by serioussam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2008, 08:07 AM
Pirouetting flip master
Malaysia
Joined Jul 2007
645 Posts
how much is the LM35?
i bought for my estation BC6 for 10USD...
think i'm stupid...
lyclyc is offline Find More Posts by lyclyc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2008, 04:34 AM
Registered abUser
serioussam's Avatar
Queensland, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
14 Posts
LM35 should be about 2USD I think. Plus cost of plug.
serioussam is offline Find More Posts by serioussam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2008, 05:13 AM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
FYI here's an actual E-Station temperature probe with the shrinkwrap removed. Same chip, same connections...
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2008, 12:05 AM
Registered abUser
serioussam's Avatar
Queensland, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
14 Posts
Thanks for the confirmation Bruce.
serioussam is offline Find More Posts by serioussam
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 02:13 PM
Asks too many questions
natterjak's Avatar
Berkshire, UK
Joined Nov 2005
474 Posts
I know this is a stupid question, but please humour me. What is the purpose of a temp sensor on a charger like this? Are you supposed to position the temp sensor on the lipo pack so the charger terminates the charge when the pack gets too hot, or is it about sensing the ambient temperature and varying the charge voltage as a result?
natterjak is offline Find More Posts by natterjak
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 03:34 PM
Registered User
Glasgow, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Sep 2004
35 Posts
its normally used when charching NIMH/NICD batteries which heat up towards the end of the charge.
When charging at a high rate they can get really hot. Charger can be set to terminate charge if temp exceeds a preset.

In some cases (hotliners spring to mind) some people keep charging untill the pack hits a certain temp (as high as 80C sometimes, if remember rightly) - then immediately use the hot pack (apparently give better output on launch or something)
bruce_c is offline Find More Posts by bruce_c
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 05:19 AM
Asks too many questions
natterjak's Avatar
Berkshire, UK
Joined Nov 2005
474 Posts
So it's not to do with terminating a lipo charge before 4.2V / cell if you're going to use the cells in a cold environment?
natterjak is offline Find More Posts by natterjak
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2008, 09:16 PM
War Eagle!
sneasle's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Sep 2006
2,900 Posts
I hope I don't get yelled at for dragging this thread up.


Is this the same type of probe used by the Triton series?
sneasle is offline Find More Posts by sneasle
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2008, 10:02 PM
Team Mulikow
Gino CP's Avatar
Manila, Philippines
Joined Oct 2006
9,564 Posts
I use my lipo only Cxarge charger's temp probe to charge my tx nimh pack. I set the charger to 3S and temp cutoff to 35 deg C. It works like a charm, cutting off current at exactly 35 deg C and sounding an alarm.
Gino CP is offline Find More Posts by Gino CP
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2008, 11:56 PM
War Eagle!
sneasle's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Sep 2006
2,900 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino CP
I use my lipo only Cxarge charger's temp probe to charge my tx nimh pack. I set the charger to 3S and temp cutoff to 35 deg C. It works like a charm, cutting off current at exactly 35 deg C and sounding an alarm.

Was that meant for me somehow?
sneasle is offline Find More Posts by sneasle
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2008, 05:18 AM
Team Mulikow
Gino CP's Avatar
Manila, Philippines
Joined Oct 2006
9,564 Posts
It's meant for anyone who could use the information.
Gino CP is offline Find More Posts by Gino CP
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2008, 08:57 AM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneasle
Is this the same type of probe used by the Triton series?
Yes.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/2445303-post1222.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by gusanoloco
the thermal probe for Duratrax ICE, G.Planes Triton, and Supernovas, Robitronics and clones is based on an integrated circuit, this is the LM35
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion IMAX B6 -- Read this before you buy.. jackyfu Batteries and Chargers 287 Jul 04, 2014 05:09 PM
Discussion Imax B8 Temp Error gilera180 Batteries and Chargers 7 Feb 29, 2008 02:02 AM
Discussion Just received an IMAX B6 charger... FerryP HobbyKing 3 Dec 18, 2007 06:48 AM
Discussion Imax B6 balancer faulty MartinL HobbyKing 8 Nov 15, 2007 04:00 PM
Wanted IMAX B6 or B8 (used) gp125racer Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Oct 29, 2007 03:22 AM