SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 20, 2007, 01:00 PM
Chef, Snowboarder, WEEEE!
Latham NY
Joined Apr 2007
276 Posts
Discussion
Baja SS Speculation and hopup thread.

I've been pouring through a ton of post, and most the upgrades available right now are for the standard Baja RTR.

With the new SS being released (hopefully next week), what hop=ups can we speculate about being MUST HAVE / MUST DO to make it the best running car for abuse and least amount of down-time on the bench for repairs ?
Being it is a KIT , I would rather just replace the junk from the start and later just enjoy knowing it is a good set up for abuse ( because I'm going to trounce and thrash this beast )
I know my sh*t with my FGMT, but when it comes to the Baja, I'm kind of unsure as there is a lot of "fancy parts" that really are just for customizing, but not really all that necessary IMHO ( eg: carbon fiber chassis and bling parts)> I'm a driver, not a parts polisher.

So far Since the SS is a kit, I have got this for the initial build:

Bad Horsie Shock sock covers,
Metal pull start ring,
Outerwears intake and start covers,
TGN redneck dual stage airfilter,
TGN failsafe,
Full Ball Bearing set -Fast Eddie(Also replaces diff bushings)
Spektrum dx3 TX/RX
HiTec -all metal gear servo for throt/brake. * I have a spare 805bb now. May add the metal gears ?
Klotz oil.

HAVE ALL THE ABOVE PARTS NOW.

Needs:

Battery- 4400mah hump pack, but what one...... want quality cells.
Front Shock tower- billet maybe the new one is stronger and wont need to be upgraded?

Aloy output gear carrier- From what I read it is a weak area on teh car and can cause premature gear wear.

Wheel extenders- did they fix the rubbing ?

Disc Brakes- Going to try to make some out of Smarttech parts hopefully.

Elkon race Clutch- <-I plan on getting this bad boy for my SS. I hate repairing stuff prematurely, so the 100.00 is money well spent IMHO if the upgraded one in the SS is "the suck".