HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 30, 2001, 11:54 AM
Omaha, NE
Joined Apr 2000
566 Posts
What is wrong with my zagi?

Okay I have been flying this zagi for a while now and it has always flown fine but now it has a strange charactaristic. It has had some horrendous crashes but the airframe looks fine. First here are the stats:
RS 1600
Permax 480 with 5.5X4.5 APC prop
weight 26.5oz.
CF Rod across the bottom of the wing at the CG. Which I have at 8" back where I like it.

Here is the problem. Now when I enter a dive it gets steeper and steeper fast. I have to use almost all of my elevator to pull it out as it screams toward the ground and even with full elevator it takes what seemss like a lifetime for it to be effective. It has been so bad lately I have not been flying it as it can get out of control fast. This is my third zagi and I have been flying for 10 years and I have never had a plane I could not at least diagnose. Any ideas?

mumboender is offline Find More Posts by mumboender
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2001, 03:13 PM
I'm disoriented!
Mt. Laurel, NJ, USA
Joined Aug 2000
948 Posts
Ray,

What mt-100 said. I added 1 oz of weight in the nose this past weekend, and the Zagi flew much better than it ever did. Tail heavy, it was squirrelly. Slightly nose heavy, it's smooth.

Also check your elevon linkages. Are they tight or sloppy? Any slop in your hinge? Are your servos loose in the foam??? Try deflecting "full up" (on ground) and try to pull the elevons down by hand (carefully). Does the servo pull out any? That's all I can think of. Make sure the pack is secure and doesn't shift.

Chris
ChrisD is offline Find More Posts by ChrisD
Old May 01, 2001, 12:10 AM
I have no friends
United States, MI, Holland
Joined Dec 1996
3,363 Posts
Go to Northeast Sailplane Products web site and read the article about dive testing.

Here is a link. http://www.nesail.com/centergravity.htm