HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 05, 2007, 04:26 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,428 Posts
Question
Adding Servo Wire Length

I see servo wire for sale at the LHS and online sites but what is the best way and what is max lenght before running into interference issues. I realize each install is different and a number of factors come into play... but I'm planning on Bipe with ailerons rather short in the top wings only out at the tips.. I would like to have the servos out in the tips for a direct connection. I'm trying to stay away from using extensions with plugs at both ends as it seems like more points of failure.

Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2007, 05:53 PM
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined Oct 2004
5,965 Posts
Go for it. Lots of modelers (me included) prefer soldered in extensions. Maximum length? Probably no rule a person can quote - do it and check. No idea what size servos you are using or how long the run, but some of the available servo wire is a bit wimpy - I prefer 22 AWG.

Bill
ebill3 is offline Find More Posts by ebill3
Old Nov 05, 2007, 07:30 PM
You can call me FANBOY!
Goodlettsville, TN
Joined Sep 2006
3,058 Posts
Use twisted wire and solder them and it shouldnt be an issue. If it is it will be due to ignition noise or something else.
chrisf testpilot is offline Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
Old Nov 05, 2007, 10:59 PM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisf testpilot
Use twisted wire and solder them and it shouldnt be an issue. If it is it will be due to ignition noise or something else.
So... would I clip the wire mid length between servo and plug.. insert my extra "run" in the middle? any special type solder... is some better for electrical work, etc...