Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 28, 2007, 02:36 PM
Be Creative!
The Hague, Netherlands
Joined Mar 2005
164 Posts
Build Log
RC parapente: Easy to build, Fun to fly!

EDIT:
videolog

weightshift small indoor
Indoor Paramoteur (3 min 37 sec)

RC paramoteurtje (8 min 23 sec)

NEW XXXXXS weightshift paramoteur (34cm span)
mini paramoteur (0 min 32 sec)

1m▓ big
1e testing
RC paraglider (2 min 14 sec)

good vid, flying with minimal wind on a very small dune
RC Paraglider (2 min 9 sec)

Hello!

I am a paraglider pilot AND addicted to RCflying. combined with the need to build everything myself instead of buying standard stuff gives sometimes fun results .

I wanted an rc paraglider. There are some good model flying around and I'm also trying to make one like this:
RC paraglider 2.4m (1 min 5 sec)

This glider is made by Nace and with his help (thank you nace!) I think my parapente will also fly very well.

But... This one is not ready yet.
A lot of people are not very handy with a sowing machine. So I made a small one a year ago. this one was very good but a little underpowered.. Lately I got the idea of making a new one with some better materials.

This was a movie I made from the first prototypes:
http://media.putfile.com/paramoteurtje-indoor-fun-20mb

The motorunit is made from SatÚ-sticks (bamboo). but you can also use other wood, glass or Carbon sticks. Glue them together with CA. then wrap sowing wire around the connections (a lot) and put more CA on it. Works great .

Motor is a GWS motor (tailmotor of little heli). 2S300mah lipo, gws pico 4 receiver.

The canopy looks a bit difficult to make, but it's sooooo simple! First it's importend to choose a good airfoil. I used a homemade (draw a line...). These little parapentes can be very twichy, so you need to have enouh reflex in the airfoil. This means the TE must point a little UP.
The ribs are made of depron. Here they are 3mm but 6 is much better.