Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 26, 2007, 04:09 AM
If it ain't broke...break it!
South Coast, UK
Joined Jun 2006
912 Posts
Build Log
It's my first time! LEG 1D Build & fly

After my good intentions of putting my LEG 1D kit aside until I'd got a load of jobs round the house sorted, I couldn't resist getting the bits out and taking a look. To cut a long story short, I got a bit carried away and after a couple of hours of belt sander abuse, and a few more of glueing and hacking, I now have a shaped fuse and a wing with spar and sub TE installed

This morning I sanded the sub TE to match the foil and then offered up the supplied aileron stock. Hmm, the aileron stock is thicker than my nicely sanded sub TE. So here's the question. Do I sand the ailerons down to the same thickness as the sub TE and leave myself with an almost knife edge TE, our live with the step, which is about 1mm? The wing will have 2 servos instead of the torque rods, and the ailerons will be top hinged.

Apologies for the poor pics. The kids borrowed the camera batteries for the Game Boy
Hangtight is offline Find More Posts by Hangtight
Last edited by Hangtight; Mar 04, 2008 at 10:15 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2007, 04:12 AM
F3B
Warwickshire, England
Joined Sep 2006
5,487 Posts
Hi,

I think the aileron stock has been thicker than the sub t/e on every kit i've had so far - this is perfectly normal. Don't leave a step (aka drag) - sand the ailerons to match the profile of the wing.

A thin T/E on your ailerons is a good thing. However, too thin and they become very weak, if they are made from balsa. The trick is to take the thickness off without going too thin. Look at the profile of the wing on the plans/instructions and try to match that.

Don't leave a step!

Tom
satinet is online now Find More Posts by satinet
Old Oct 26, 2007, 05:12 AM
South Coast, UK
Joined Jun 2006
912 Posts