HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 17, 2007, 08:16 AM
Ontario, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
181 Posts
Question
Help with Aspire Set Up

Hi all,

I am new to EP Gliders but have been flying glow powered airplanes for about 6 months.

I am interested in aerial photography, and after seeing many videos taken from gliders, I decided to buy one. I ended up getting the Hangar 9 Aspire RTF glider. It comes with the E-flite ESC, 1500 mAh Ni-Cd and a 550 motor.

The first 2 times out have been in slightly windy conditions, and the glider struggled into the wind to gain altitude. The 2nd flight was slightly better as the wind was less. After 30-40 sec of full throttle, the plane did climb to about 100 feet and was more responsive then on the 1st flight.

My question is, can I change the set up of this glider so that I can fly it in slightly windy conditions, or can it only be flown on calm days?

I have purchased a Li-Poly 2C battery for the plane which would cut the weight substantially. Is a brushless motor in my future?

Thanks.

Darren
Autopilot68 is offline Find More Posts by Autopilot68
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 17, 2007, 08:46 AM
Finland
Joined Aug 2005
695 Posts
More weight is good when flying in windy conditions, better penetration through wind. Dont know the model, tough to say anything about it. Anyone else, experiences ?

E
ezmo is offline Find More Posts by ezmo
Old Oct 17, 2007, 09:33 AM
Ontario, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
181 Posts
Thanks Ezmo,

Maybe what I need is some recommendations on ESC - motor and prop.

I have read in another post here at rc groups from 2005, that this plane is not a strong climber especially in any wind.

What suggestions can somebody make on a motor that would fit this plane.

Darren
Old Oct 17, 2007, 10:38 AM
Joined Sep 2003
423 Posts
The stock motor and ESC/BEC should be fine with a 2 cell Lipolymer and that will help climb a bit with lower weight and increased voltage.