Old Dec 04, 2002, 03:05 PM
Thats NOT indestructible
London UK
Joined Apr 2002
1,448 Posts
Cool
RC-Cams Nav-Lights

Hi

I am planning on building this, http://rc-cam.com/navlight.htm to keep me busy during the winter holidays, but would like to make a PCB for it

This is my first time designing PCB's and was wondering if ne one out there could give me a hand

The problem i see is that there are LOADS of intercrossing wires, which would be hard/impossable to rearange into tracks

Attached is the schematic

Thanks

Josh
j8m8l is offline Find More Posts by j8m8l
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2002, 04:29 PM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,703 Posts
Ah, Well that is the PCB designers art...and believe me it took me well over a couple of years to get neat and good...

Get a sheet of paper, a rubber and a pencil, and the components you are to use, and measure each one.

Then just get going. And scrap, rub out and try again. Eventually you will come up with a layout that just has one or two bits you CAN'T link up except by using a bit of wire.

Then use a bit of wire. Or often we used to use very low value (4 ohm) resistors as links, because they were cheaper than making wire links, since they fit on the machines with all the other resistors :-)

However, you are not designing for mass production
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Old Dec 05, 2002, 01:57 PM
USA
Joined Oct 2001
5,185 Posts
Hmm, you got me curious about how many circuit jumper wires would occur on a small single sided NavLight PCB. With a little bit of effort, I ended up with only two jumps. With more effort, it could probably be done with none.

Below you will see what the final board looks like. It is 1.0 inch x 1.3 inch. The A & B green traces are the two jumper wires. The S1 green traces go to the On/Off switch. Cap C2 was omitted since in this tight layout it is not needed (C1 is sufficient).