HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 08, 2007, 11:34 PM
Crash - Rebuild - Repeat
Atlanta, GA
Joined Aug 2007
500 Posts
Discussion
Doppler Speed Acuracy?

Recently I started playing in the high speed RC arena, and I've been using the "Wave O Scope" measuring my speed via Doppler. Well, today I flew my FunJet with a MegaMotor 16-15-3 and a 4 Cell Lipo. I also flew my Speedwing Dart (with a Neu Motor 1105/3Y and 3 cell). According to this tool, my speeds seemed low. So...I pulled up the video on VirtualDub and used it to measure the time it took to go from Soccer Goal Post to Soccer Goal post. The field I fly at is 100 yards long...300 feet. I flew the Dart lower than I did the Funjet...so here's some shots:

First, the Dart passes Goal post #1 at 00:57.299

Second, the passes Goal Post #2 at 00:58.566

That's a time difference of 1.267 seconds. Now, simple math...

300' / 1.267 = 236.78 ft/sec
236.78 ft/sec * 60 sec/min = 14206.8 ft/min
14206.8 ft/min * 60 min/hr = 852408 ft/hr
852408 ft/hr / 5280 ft/mile = 161.4 MPH

Now...the doppler for this pass shows 103.4 MPH.

Now...I gotta ask...What's going on?? That's a speed descrepancy of 58 MPH.

The Funjet was way off too...I can't help but wonder...has anyone ever tested this doppler program for accuracy? All files are available for analysis..and will cooperate with anyone willing to try and find a solid answer.

Any and all comments welcome. I'm trying to find the best way of getting the speed from these birds...and after this little comparison...I'm not sure the Doppler program is the way to go.

Later,
Eric
efether is offline Find More Posts by efether
Last edited by efether; Oct 08, 2007 at 11:44 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2007, 11:56 PM
hot air rises...
Pleasant Grove, UT
Joined Jul 2005
7,804 Posts