SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JimDrew, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Mar 26, 2011, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Tennessee
Joined Sep 2003
2,339 Posts
Not clear about removing Cockpit MM RF board. Is just removing the crystal and standard antenna enough or is there more that is not apparent in the photographs. Also, is the rf board and antenna stripped from the standard universal module with 6 inch bare wire? I plan to upgrade my Cockpit with this module and want to be sure that I get everything I need.

My first modern transmitter was the 1967 Microavionics. Since then, I have owned Proline single stick and two stick transmitters, Ace Silver Seven, Futaba, JR, Airtronics Infinity, Hitec, Micropro, Cockpit MM, and Evo transmitters. Of these, the Cockpit MM was my favorite. My biggest disappointment with the Evo was that it was so much bigger and lacked the feel and ballance of the MM.
ChuckA is offline Find More Posts by ChuckA
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 26, 2011, 01:36 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,916 Posts
If you don't have the synth module, you just pull the crystal. If you do have the synth module, you must remove it.

You need the EVO module for the Cockpit MM. The Universal module's pigtail is too short.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 10:15 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Ringwood
Joined Aug 2007
12 Posts
Photo Cockpit MM.XPS board connection

Hi Jim,

re. XPS connection.
The internal TX board I have was sold in Australia with the Cockpit SX tx.
I am fitting it to the Cockpit MM as per photos.

The XPS module is marked v1.065. looking down on the board with the
small connector as the bottom edge & antenna lead at the top, from the
left,
No. 1 is BLUE wire.
2 nil.
3 RED
4 BLACK

Has there been a change. Is my board or photo wrong?
All help gratefully received.

Norm.
jimmydog is offline Find More Posts by jimmydog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 02:23 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,916 Posts
The picture I posted of the Cockpit MM install is correct. You just need a standard servo plug to interface into our board (using our bare harness).
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 03:26 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Ringwood
Joined Aug 2007
12 Posts
Photo Cockpit MM.

Hi Jim.

Thanks for fast reply. I may not have been clear explaining. Mine
was supplied with a short lead. It is the LEAD plug (into XPS board) I
meant.
The photo shows, Mine is,
No.1 RED No.1 BLUE
2 nil 2 nil
3 WHITE 3 RED
4 BLACK 4 BLACK

Once again thanks.
Norm.
jimmydog is offline Find More Posts by jimmydog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 03:32 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Ringwood
Joined Aug 2007
12 Posts
Photo Cockpit MM.

Sorry Jim.
That did not come out as I typed it, but you can see what I mean ( I hope ).
Norm.
jimmydog is offline Find More Posts by jimmydog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 10:40 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,916 Posts
I am confused. The board pin out (blue, n.c., red, black) is correct. What is your question?
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 07:48 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Ringwood
Joined Aug 2007
12 Posts
Photo Cockpit MM.

Hi Jim.

Re your last reply.
Board pin out. Blue. nc. Red. Black.
My board & Lead Blue. nc. Red. Black.
Photo RED. nc. White.Black.

In photo the Red and White (Blue) are transposed, or is this because of
the tx board?

Thanks Norm.
jimmydog is offline Find More Posts by jimmydog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 11:05 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,916 Posts
The servo connection used with the installation I did doesn't match the bare harness that comes with the module. Instead of using our normal harness, I used a servo pigtail.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 01:17 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Ringwood
Joined Aug 2007
12 Posts
Photo Cockpit MM.

Hi Jim.

I've got it now. Don't know why you were confused, my wife
says I been that way for the last 50 yrs.

Thanks again
Norm.
jimmydog is offline Find More Posts by jimmydog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 07:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
3 Posts
XPS for JR 11X 2.4 DSMX

Please Jim, develops transmitter module for JR 11X 2.4 DCMX which sells Horizon
japo_2 is offline Find More Posts by japo_2
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 07:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
3 Posts
Replace DCMX for XPS on 11X 2.4 (Horizon)

I want to replace that impractical DCMX system.

I am very happy with my PCM10X with XPS, But, I want to use the 11X, but does not work. I think it does not emit a PPM signal or is not valid............

Thank you Jim !!!
japo_2 is offline Find More Posts by japo_2
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 11:33 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
8 Posts
HELLO.I have a ko propo ex10 helios car radio i need to make it a 2.4 can you tell me what i need to do.can you help with this it wood be nice to have your system at the track that i race at.thanks jim hope you can help.i also fly rc air planes.
(HAMMER) is offline Find More Posts by (HAMMER)
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 01:08 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,916 Posts
There is an adapter made by some company that allows you to use a Futaba module with the KO PROPO transmitters. Using this adapter, you can use our Futaba module.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2012, 09:06 AM
Chillaxin dude!
BulletMaster's Avatar
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Joined Apr 2003
4,808 Posts
japo_2.. get the 11X Zero module version. then you can use the XPS module with the tx.. that's what I did!
BulletMaster is offline Find More Posts by BulletMaster
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What the terrorists are attacking jbourke Life, The Universe, and Politics 42 Jul 21, 2006 09:01 AM
Heli Radio Needed What are your sudgestions? rspiegel Electric Heli Talk 14 Sep 13, 2002 02:00 PM
What pitch are the gears in the Great Planes GB? slowflyer Sport Planes 1 Oct 04, 2001 11:27 PM
What cells are you using in your Sokols? Jensst High Performance 10 Jul 13, 2001 09:43 AM
Hitec radio systems...how good are they? luv2fly Electric Sailplanes 6 Apr 24, 2001 02:49 PM