SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 29, 2007, 12:22 PM
Airstrip One, Oceania
Joined Feb 2004
24 Posts
Discussion
Engineering Basics for a 1/5 scale

Hello all,
So I'm a freshman mechanical engineering student at RPI in NY. I've been into RC for a bunch of years now, but never RC cars. Long story short, I now have full access to our student machine shop, which houses lathes, mills, and metal tools beyond my wildest dreams.

Since I have four years (at least) left here, I thought a really rewarding (and cost-effective) project would be to custom build a 1/5 scale car. Accompanying machining skills would also be CAD and basic engineering/research skills. And since I have mostly free (or very cheap) access to aluminum, costs would not be bad.

For now I need some basic specs for a 1/5 scale car. Wheelbase, length, width, diameter of tires would be a start. I am most interested in a "touring car" parking lot type car. If you have plans or know of anywhere to get them, they would be extremely helpful as well. Plans would be excellent because they would show where people generally place drive components on the chassis to get good balance on the chassis.

The chassis design has still not been decided (tube vs. milled aluminum pan). Personally I think tube would be better for me and I know that's how plenty of custom 1/5 scale cars are built. I have read that I can use 3/8" (?) steel tubing from any Lowe's or Home Depot... and I'm hoping that can be bent by hand, or at least easily without special tubing benders?

Certain specific parts will be purchased so I will need to make my design around those parts. Examples include shocks, engine, transmission (if there is one), rear differential (if there is one), wheels, braking system and obviously radio gear. I figure the engine will come from a chainsaw or weedwacker, and I will use the stock centrifugal clutch that comes installed on the engine.