SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 22, 2007, 03:18 AM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,520 Posts
Question
Balance CG of low wing plane

I see in ads for cg balancers the low wing aircraft are shown inverted. Is this so it will hang in a more stable manner having the majority of the weight below? I would think wether it's balanced right side up or upside down, the cg location would be the same.

I'm getting ready to begin balancing my four star .40 and after 4 months of work... I don't want to re-kit it on takeoff.
Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 22, 2007, 04:30 AM
Wellington, NZ
Joined Aug 2006
841 Posts
Yep, just because it is stable while upside down. Makes no diff to CG.

Good luck with the maiden, Mike. We certainly don't want to see it back in kit form
linw is offline Find More Posts by linw
Old Sep 22, 2007, 11:50 AM
Adelaide, South Australia
Joined Sep 2003
3,104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin
I would think wether it's balanced right side up or upside down, the cg location would be the same.
The CG will be in the same place of course but we're not concerned where the vertical location is (somewhere near the centre of the fuselage) but only its position lengthwise. Putting a model on a balancer so that its vertical location is below the support just lets it act like a pendulum and hang in a stable position.
downunder is offline Find More Posts by downunder
Old Sep 25, 2007, 05:31 AM
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,225 Posts
almost impossible to balance a low wing right side up..I'll bet it would fall off the balancer before you got it. inverted is the way to go
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Old Sep 25, 2007, 10:53 AM
Fremont, Mi.
Joined Oct 2006
42 Posts