Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 21, 2007, 11:45 AM
Detail Freak
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,333 Posts
Discussion
Operating over or under Max Efficiencies?

Hi-

I'm relatively new to the E-power calculator program available. I'm wondering what the advantages/disadvantages are of picking two different motor/prop/battery combos for a given airframe, and running one UNDER the motor's rated current M. E. and one OVER the motor's rated M. E. current?

Specifically, I'm looking at Mega 16/15/x verses Mega 16/25/x....

For a little weight penalty with the longer motor, I'd be running likely under the max efficiancy amperage.

With the shorter motors, I'd be running well over the rated max efficiency.

Any advantages/disadvantages?

Here is the airframe in question:

Thanks,
Target
target is offline Find More Posts by target
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 21, 2007, 12:50 PM
Giz
Tony Rogers
Bath, UK
Joined Sep 2003
2,189 Posts
First of all, keep in mind that the maximum efficiency current varies with applied voltage. It usually (always?) increases with voltage.

Anyway, I think it is better for your full throttle current to be above the maximum efficiency current. Then, when you fly at part throttle, your motor efficiency will get better. If your full throttle current is already below the maximum efficiency current, it will only get worse at part throttle.

Having said that, it does depend on the actual efficiency of the two motors and the shape of the efficiency curves. It would be possible to have a motor operating below the maximum efficiency current that has a higher actual efficiency than a motor operating below the M.E. current.
Giz is offline Find More Posts by Giz
Old Sep 21, 2007, 01:05 PM
Detail Freak
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giz