HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 24, 2001, 10:51 PM
Wilm., DE 19805
Joined Jul 2001
16 Posts
Total Newbie (Watch My progress with 0 Experience First Heli and Beginner)

First off sorry about the subject length, but I thought I would get in all the Search parameters I think newcomers will use to search.

What this will be is my progress from start to fly. And hopefully it will help others later on.

Ok here it begins.

I have decided to not go with a full kit and part it out to help with the bank acct stress and spouse stress

I thought about starting with a Micro such as the Robin 280, Hornet, or Piccolo but wrote that off since I like to have a more versatile Aircraft and parts for later use and affordability. Larger Gas/Nitro powered are out of the question since the majority of flights will be in the backyard 3/4 acres with some trees and neighbors nearby, as well as the good ole basement for hovering, don't worry 10ft ceilings and unfinished area and I will keep the dog and cats upstairs .

So I decieded to go with the ECO 8 for a starter,

1. For my lack of knowledge it seems like a good craft to get my feet off the ground.

2. Versatility, I love upgrading and being in the middle means I can go smaller or larger if I liked to.

This is my purchase list so far and I will place an order after talking with the "tester" at hobby lobby on 7/24/2001

1. Ikarus ECO 8 199.00
2. Auto Rotation Gear 41.50
3. Accesory Pack 32.00 (starting from scratch remember )
4. Kyosho Magnetic Mayhem Reverse 22x1 21.99 (from Tower Hobbies)
5. Jeti 300 Heli Microprocessor(ESC) 55.90 (not sure if I will buy this in the first purchase, I may hold off).

Well that is what I am going for on the first wave I may just hold off on the Motor but from what I Have been reading it looks like it will be the affordable winner.