Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 10, 2007, 07:34 AM
Registered User
Dayton Montgomery, Ohio, United States
Joined Dec 2002
459 Posts
Discussion
DX9, DX7, DX6 Compatability

Is there compatability Issues moving from one "system" to the next ? I am new to all this Spectrum Technology and just wanted to know system compatability
plasticjoe is online now Find More Posts by plasticjoe
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2007, 08:09 AM
Owns an Evil Black Rifle
Twizter68's Avatar
United States, TX, Weatherford
Joined Dec 2005
1,023 Posts
The radios are backwards compatible with the recievers; but the DX6 can only use the AR6000 rx, the DX7 can only use the AR6000, 6100, 6100e, 6200, 7000.
Twizter68 is offline Find More Posts by Twizter68
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 08:33 AM
Registered User
Dayton Montgomery, Ohio, United States
Joined Dec 2002
459 Posts
Are there plans to make them forward compatabile from now on ? Seems to be like buying a computer and computer games if they don't try and make some sort of standardized compatibility. To make the jump to change all your models every time could get rather expensive
plasticjoe is online now Find More Posts by plasticjoe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticjoe
Are there plans to make them forward compatabile from now on ? ...
I don't think so - same reason why you can't already develop a computer game for Windows 3000. Also 2.4GHz is still relatively new, so why freeze any further development at an early stage? As long as the newer transmitters still work with older receivers, there is no reason for it.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 11:34 AM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,687 Posts
Yes... They have recently announced the DX6i radio which uses DSM2 so it will work with most of the receivers (not sure of the specs, so I don't know if it will support the AR6000 and BR6000 receivers).
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 12:37 PM
Registered User
bsoder's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
1,848 Posts
I'd bet the DX6i will support both DSM and DSM2, just like the 7 and 9303.

On the other hand, the plug-in modules are DSM2 only, aren't they?
bsoder is offline Find More Posts by bsoder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 02:11 PM
Registered User
5 miles from the geographical center of Pennsylvania
Joined Aug 2005
2,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoder
I'd bet the DX6i will support both DSM and DSM2, just like the 7 and 9303.

On the other hand, the plug-in modules are DSM2 only, aren't they?
Yes, modules are DSM2 only. I'm guessing that the DX6i is too, hope I'm wrong.
Unterhausen is offline Find More Posts by Unterhausen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 02:15 PM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,473 Posts
Quote:
I'm guessing that the DX6i is too
Me too - sadly.....

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 02:33 PM
Registered User
bsoder's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
1,848 Posts
why are you thinking it's DSM2 only? neither the DX7 or X9303 are... any reasoning or just a guess?
bsoder is offline Find More Posts by bsoder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 02:35 PM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,473 Posts
Pure speculation....
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 03:05 PM
Registered User
bsoder's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
1,848 Posts
Ok, then I speculate that it will be XPS compatible.
bsoder is offline Find More Posts by bsoder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 03:18 PM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoder
Ok, then I speculate that it will be XPS compatible.
What no FASST compatibility?

pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 03:58 PM
Registered User
bsoder's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
1,848 Posts
let's not get crazy now...
bsoder is offline Find More Posts by bsoder
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 04:54 PM
Electric Airplane Junkie
bhchan's Avatar
San Mateo, Ca , USA
Joined Jun 2000
5,579 Posts
Why they come out with a DX6i? what for? I wished they would come out with a AR6000 for DSM2. The AR6000 is simple and good range, long antennae that stick out of the fuselage, just plane work!

Brian, an EAJ
bhchan is offline Find More Posts by bhchan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2007, 05:16 PM
Registered User
Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Joined Mar 2001
1,710 Posts
the DX6 + AR or (BR) 6000 combo has worked perfect (so far) on all my planes.....really like the dual Rx-Rf links, dual polarity antennas- single package plan form up to the quad flap (crow) level...the required flap servos y-splitter is just a little kinky..... the DX-6 would really have been beter if introduced as a 7 chan design (how much more would just 1 more chan have cost ??) but as is, range is 'otta sight at least for my eyeball condition + special tinted flyin glasses and combined with external switching Bec's (Park brand) to insure constant volts to Rx-flite pack system, no hits or lock-outs yet.......... kw
KillerWatt is offline Find More Posts by KillerWatt
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert United Hobbies to cary Spektrum DX7 / DX6 HeadsUp Hot Online Deals 9 Mar 01, 2007 04:01 PM
Discussion SpekTrum DX7/DX6 Dilemma? ShokWaveRider Radios 10 Dec 07, 2006 09:35 AM