HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 08, 2007, 10:16 PM
Joined Aug 2007
208 Posts
Discussion
Flying on an Air Force Base...

I live on an AF base, in base housing. I am relatively new to this rc plane thing...been flying on base in various areas (not near the runway or approaches, and not more than about 100 ft).

I'm sure there are other AF members on this forum. Can you tell me if there are any rules governing the flying of rc planes on an AF base?

I suppose more generally speaking; are there rules about flying close to any airfield?

I am flying electric (slow stick at the moment)...can't see flying anything fast or non-electric in the future.

Thanks,
Len

p.s. I am at McGuire AFB in NJ. I can also fly over at Ft Dix Army Post, which McGuire is basically part of.
lendawg1 is offline Find More Posts by lendawg1
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 08, 2007, 10:24 PM
Deletedfor proving Nauga wrong
Joined Mar 2005
15,855 Posts
Its best to ASK before flying on any military installation.

Some will allow it. Some won't.

You don't want to be flying and have the MP or base security truck pull up and send you back to your work center with a piece of paper saying you'll have to talk with the base CO about a pay reduction.
fhhuber506771 is offline Find More Posts by fhhuber506771
Old Sep 08, 2007, 10:42 PM
Promoting Model Aviation...
United States, OK, Henryetta
Joined Nov 2005
25,288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lendawg1
I live on an AF base, in base housing. I am relatively new to this rc plane thing...been flying on base in various areas (not near the runway or approaches, and not more than about 100 ft).

I'm sure there are other AF members on this forum. Can you tell me if there are any rules governing the flying of rc planes on an AF base?

I suppose more generally speaking; are there rules about flying close to any airfield?

I am flying electric (slow stick at the moment)...can't see flying anything fast or non-electric in the future.

Thanks,
Len