HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 04, 2007, 03:51 PM
Texas
Joined May 2007
48 Posts
Discussion
Help! - Newbie needs direction. How small can a I go without going actauator?

Hi, all,
I'm a total newbie, never flew a rc plane. So please bear with me if I ask some dumb questions. I have posted similar question in "Indoor and Micro". Sorry for the double post, but I want to know from people of different perspectives. I've been lurking around here in RC groups for ideas so I can make some small flyable planes(unlike the 2 ch toys) with my kids(8 & 6). I've been reading here for 2 month, trying to figure out what kind of motor, esc, servo, rx , lipo battery I should use for plane with wingspan between 12"-24". I don't really want to go too small. The idea is using convetional servos, rx, etc for indoor and outdoor(calm condition) in a basketball size field. Is it possible to do so without going plantraco rx, actuator and falcon servos? Or should I say what will be the minimum size of planes I can do with today's smallest devices? What kind brushless motor, esc, rx, servos, battery can you recommend(make and model)? I have bought bunch of stuff from a guy for $140, including e-flight esc 20A with a 370 brushless motor,2 futaba std servo, 3 futaba micro S3108 servos, 2 GWS naro pro servos,7 ch receiver and battery, a great-planes brushed mini esc, a futaba 6 ch computer tx, and some 2 meter wingspan balsa and fiberglass planes. I would think most things seem too big for this size planes. I really want to use the futaba tx. Do you think there are useful items here I can use for the size of planes I want? I'm not considering buying any RTF or ARF kit, so the kids can break as many as they can, and we can make new ones with buecor fan-fold and 2mm bule foam sheet. The purpose is to make the kids hands on making their own things and have fun. I planned some time ago for the kids to do it in summer. Now the summer is over, and I don't have a plane made. Worse, I'm m