HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2008, 07:21 PM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramovan
Thanks for the update Louis. I updated the version on our website to the latest.
Hi Ramovan
I just corrected a minor bug (I kept the same version number 3.12)
So you can pick up again, now for your website.
Regards
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2008, 12:43 AM
Wandering IT geek
ronin4740's Avatar
United States, NV, Reno
Joined Aug 2005
3,965 Posts
Fourdan: any chance of adding some of the MAS 3 blade props to the calculator? I use them on a few of my larger warbirds and it'd be nice to have your numbers instead of my guesses. Thanks!
ronin4740 is offline Find More Posts by ronin4740
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2008, 03:53 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin4740
Fourdan: any chance of adding some of the MAS 3 blade props to the calculator? I use them on a few of my larger warbirds and it'd be nice to have your numbers instead of my guesses. Thanks!
Hi
Sorry. Presently my stock of propellers MAS TB is limited to
6040 TB
8060 TB
9070 TB
Those "small" three-blades are embedded. I have to normalise the names.
The "generic" way is of course not so precise with standard coeff = 1
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2008, 01:45 PM
Wandering IT geek
ronin4740's Avatar
United States, NV, Reno
Joined Aug 2005
3,965 Posts
Is there any way for me to calculate the coefficients? If I knew how to do that then I guess I could add them in and share the data with you.
ronin4740 is offline Find More Posts by ronin4740
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2008, 03:24 PM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin4740
Is there any way for me to calculate the coefficients? If I knew how to do that then I guess I could add them in and share the data with you.
Yes
If you have a given Scorpion
You have to measure
Rm, Io, rpmo for 2 voltages that gives Kv (several samples could vary Kv)
Then you test with a given ESC the selected prop:
DC Voltage at ESC input, amps, rpm, thrust
Then I can determine the prop Kpower and Kthrust and incorporate
So this prop is valid for other voltages, motors etc ..
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 01:30 PM
Howdie Doo Dat ?
Chophop's Avatar
Pleasant Valley Modelport
Joined Sep 2006
8,940 Posts
Would it be easy to add a helicopter function to Scorpion Calc ? There would be some considerations for the tail rotor draw in addition to the main rotor. That would have to include drive type, gear/belt, tail rotor diameter and pitch, tail boom length, and tail drive ratio.
There would be a need to simulate stepping the tail rotor pitch along with the main rotor pitch, and a slider to move the pitch.
Also, we use flat blades, and degrees of pitch instead of inches.
No problem if you think it is too complex to add the heli functions, but it would be nice.

Thank you.

CH
Chophop is online now Find More Posts by Chophop
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 01:53 PM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chophop
Would it be easy to add a helicopter function to Scorpion Calc ? There would be some considerations for the tail rotor draw in addition to the main rotor. That would have to include drive type, gear/belt, tail rotor diameter and pitch, tail boom length, and tail drive ratio.
There would be a need to simulate stepping the tail rotor pitch along with the main rotor pitch, and a slider to move the pitch.
Also, we use flat blades, and degrees of pitch instead of inches.
No problem if you think it is too complex to add the heli functions, but it would be nice.

Thank you.

CH
Hi CH
Difficult for me to add some helicopter function to Scorpion Calc.
I am not a specialist of that.
It seems to me that there are a lot of new parameters
a) for planes : voltage, Kv, fixed pitch prop, thrust, pitch speed
b) for helicos : pinion GB , variable pitch rotor , tail rotor ...
Sorry for this negative reply.

I am planning to add in the future a "wizard"
a) Given a plane "generic definition" >>> right motor, voltage, prop
b) So for a "generic" heli I could make a correspondence to some Scorpion motor (HK or HK II or ...)
Regards
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 02:18 PM
Howdie Doo Dat ?
Chophop's Avatar
Pleasant Valley Modelport
Joined Sep 2006
8,940 Posts
I think the heli tail as an average would add maybe 30% load to the motor, so as an estimator, maybe that would work.
But how about how to input for a flat blade and convert inches pitch to degrees pitch ?
I am at least getting a better understanding by observing the propellor loads.

Thanks

CH
Chophop is online now Find More Posts by Chophop
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2008, 04:27 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Hi
I was told about a message error 13 "Type mismatch" on Scorpion Calc.
(in some countries on some Windows OS)
I am working to fix this bug due to Visual Basic difficulty with some international features related to dot or comma.
Waiting for a definitive solution (re-writing some lines) here under is a tip

Preliminary solution (following a clever info from Wolfgang Korosec) :
a) Open the file Scorpion.ini with a text editor (like Notepad)
b) Search for the line "1,"
c) Replace by "1" (without comma, without dot)
d) Save the file in the same folder
I hope that works.
Feedbacks appreciated
Sorry for that bug !!

Best regards
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2009, 05:40 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Hi
Scorpion Calc updated v3.13
Minor modifications
---
Next step (I hope feb 2009) will be v4.01 with a wizard/plane to select the right combo "Scorpion motor+Prop+Voltage".
I hope to embed the HKII 2221-6 (I have received)
I am waiting from Georges some SII new Scorpions to test
Regards
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2009, 07:45 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
The Netherlands, GE, Nijmegen
Joined Feb 2001
10,923 Posts
Louis, is a Scorpion Calc update also/always a MM_Calc update?

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2009, 08:02 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Ron
Scorpion Calc updating presently
Other freewares just a little later
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 06:20 PM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Hi
Hi
Scorpion Calc updated v3.14
Minor bug on v3.13 (about menu)
Refer to post#1
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2009, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Carl Petersen's Avatar
United States, AZ, Quartzsite
Joined Mar 2002
1,630 Posts
Just a note:
In 3.14 selecting "APC" in the Propeller Preferences seems to have no effect in the main window. Still cycles through all the different props. I've reverted to 3.12 which works fine for me.

Thanks
Carl Petersen is offline Find More Posts by Carl Petersen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2009, 11:49 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Petersen
Just a note:
In 3.14 selecting "APC" in the Propeller Preferences seems to have no effect in the main window. Still cycles through all the different props. I've reverted to 3.12 which works fine for me.

Thanks
Hello
It seems you are right.
I have to open the VB6 hood to correct
Thanks
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools