HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 25, 2007, 12:30 PM
The Go To Guys!
Common Sense RC's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
49 Posts
Discussion
Can it get easier? Fill in the blanks?

Hey guys-

We have added a new feature to our website. We have harnessed the power of database management to allow YOU to choose a combo for your new airframe!

One of the comments we have noticed is that often times flyers have a hard time picking the appropriate motor for their aircraft.

We have developed a method to allow you guys to enter your information - Plane weight, desired flying type, available prop clearance and voila the software will spit out Motor, Propeller, Battery, ESC expected current, expected wattage, expected thrust and speed..

We are doing everything we can to make this hobby as plug and play as possible..

Check it out at http://www.commonsenserc.com/page.p...otor-wizard.php!


Common Sense RC
The Go-to Guys in Electric RC
www.commonsenserc.com
Common Sense RC is offline Find More Posts by Common Sense RC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 25, 2007, 01:51 PM
WAA-08 Survivor
Griffin's Avatar
Joined May 2004
2,639 Posts
Here's what I get for my first attempt for a 40oz sport plane.


< Start Over
"Results not available

Sorry, we cannot determine the configuration you need. Would you like to ask for assitance on our tech forum?"



Also, it would seem asking the total flying weight before picking the power system is a circular reference. Until YOU tell me the power system, how can I tell you the what total flying weight is?

Why not ask the airframe weight?

-Steve
Griffin is offline Find More Posts by Griffin
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 01:58 PM
Registered User
Davis, CA
Joined Dec 2006
274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffin
Also, it would seem asking the total flying weight before picking the power system is a circular reference. Until YOU tell me the power system, how can I tell you the what total flying weight is?
Try successive iterations and pray that the results converge
brtlmj is offline Find More Posts by brtlmj
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 02:16 PM
Promoting Model Aviation...
Murocflyer's Avatar
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Nov 2005
24,735 Posts
The clearance question is not working. It's giving me a 10" prop with a 7" clearance input.

Otherwise a cool tool. Wish it linked to Himax motors

Frank
Murocflyer is online now Find More Posts by Murocflyer
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 25, 2007, 02:24 PM
Registered User
Davis, CA
Joined Dec 2006
274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by murocflyer
The clearance question is not working. It's giving me a 10" prop with a 7" clearance input.
Errr... doesn't a 10'' prop need 5'' of clearance?
brtlmj is offline Find More Posts by brtlmj
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 02:31 PM
Promoting Model Aviation...
Murocflyer's Avatar
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Nov 2005
24,735 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brtlmj
Errr... doesn't a 10'' prop need 5'' of clearance?
Oops, I meant to say 4"

Frank
Murocflyer is online now Find More Posts by Murocflyer
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 25, 2007, 02:44 PM
Ustabee supported Unabomber
countrygentleman's Avatar
Ustabee supported Unabomber
Joined Sep 2006
1,192 Posts
Doesn't work for me. Sounds like a good idea though.
countrygentleman is offline Find More Posts by countrygentleman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 07:04 PM
Registered User
mikekomm's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2002
576 Posts
We are researching and fixing the bug for the ground clearance issue now.

Mike
www.CommonSenseRC.com
mikekomm is offline Find More Posts by mikekomm
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 07:44 PM
Promoting Model Aviation...
Murocflyer's Avatar
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Nov 2005
24,735 Posts
Cool. Looks like a very nice tool for new folks.

Frank
Murocflyer is online now Find More Posts by Murocflyer
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 25, 2007, 08:06 PM
Ustabee supported Unabomber
countrygentleman's Avatar
Ustabee supported Unabomber
Joined Sep 2006
1,192 Posts
I am assuming there is a size (weight) limit to this program? I put in my 10lb plane and nothing came up.
countrygentleman is offline Find More Posts by countrygentleman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2007, 12:53 AM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Country - Currently, the program is setup to work with the motors we have available. We will soon be carrying motors that will yank your 10lb plane all over the sky..

Please check back with us!

Jeff
www.CommonSenseRC.com
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I get this plane in foam ? livinma1 Parkflyers 0 Jan 05, 2004 07:56 AM
where can i get a GWS Zero in europe Stephane Parkflyers 20 Aug 14, 2002 07:47 PM
Where oh where can I get a Mini Graphite in the US Speedfreak Electric Sailplanes 4 Aug 14, 2002 12:55 AM
Anyone know where i can get mega motrs in Canada? kushal_22 Electric Plane Talk 23 Jun 14, 2002 03:08 PM
Does anyone know where i can get a mega brushless in canada(besides icare) kushal_22 Foamies (Kits) 2 Jun 11, 2002 04:39 AM