HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 19, 2002, 07:42 PM
I have no friends
United States, MI, Holland
Joined Dec 1996
3,376 Posts
When does one just say "fooey"'?

As I post this I wonder what will come next.

A little background. I'm 26 in good health (knock on wood), have a college degree, a house, all the fixens for a decent existence, but not wealthy. I don't complain about money, frankly I have no problems even if I'm not a millionaire, just an average guy.

I go to work every day and wonder why. I work as an IT "goffer" for a large company. I started as an administrator in a division of the company that doesn't exist, now I'm in a group that isn't an IT related group as a web developer, something new to me but hey why not. But I don't seem to get any respect for what I do or know, I don't want to be worshiped, but please, a thank you now and then would be great.

I wake up in the morning and regret doing so, frankly I'm misserable. Yes, everyone can go get a "happy pill" and I tried for a bit, but no go. What does one do when every day becomes to much missery?

A few wonderful events to spice up life, a friend started where I work, we talked and hung out and all that, I made the cardinal mistake of loaning her money, she charged me with sexual harrassment as a way to pay me back. Luckily it didn't work, I had proof it was mutual. Had to go to court, still getting money back very slowly. That reputation, even undeserved doesn't help in a conservative company, I hear wispers everywhere I go.

Would love to get out of this rut, but I think it's here to stay. Wifey and I get along OK, she understands what really happened and isn't upset, but holds a grudge nonetheless.

So what to do, well, who knows, but this isn't what I had in mind to tell the truth. No, I'm not looking for the gun, pills blah blah blah, but a nice nap for a month or two wouldn't hurt really. Maybe upon my return I can keep climbing the hill...