HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 15, 2007, 08:13 AM
Joined Jul 2007
9 Posts
Discussion
Turbo Vee 3 vs Hammer EP Your Thoughts?

Hi All,

I am a complete beginner and new to RC. I have been doing some research for an entry level boat, that has the potential to grow a little if I wind up getting hooked. I had bought a used Reef Racer 2 off ebay and it acted very quirky so I am returning it for a refund. I have been researching the boats in the $100 + range. I have narrowed it down to the Aquacraft Hammer EP RTR and the Tower Hobbies Turbo Vee 3 RTR. I like these two boats, because like they are RTR and I like the idea of water cooling already in place from the Mfg. The boat will be used on a small lake and local river, both of which are relatively calm on most days but like any body of water can have boat or wind induced wakes.

I have found a good deal of discussion and review material for the Hammer, but not a lot for the Turbo Vee 3. Is the Hammer that much better of a boat (they seem very close on paper) or is it just the more popular of the two? I grew up rooting for the underdogs and was thinking of giving the Turbo Vee 3 a chance, but in the end I want to buy the best boat for the money and my enjoyment.

I appreciate any input or experience you can share
staper is offline Find More Posts by staper
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 15, 2007, 10:28 PM
Alabama
Joined Jul 2007
33 Posts
Better get the Hammer!JMOO
hubhunts is offline Find More Posts by hubhunts
Old Aug 20, 2007, 10:32 AM
king of scratch builts
cottonwood
Joined Aug 2007
99 Posts
get the tv 3

the tv3 and the hammer are the same. i have a tv3 and it goes really fast you can paint it if you dont like the stock color get the turbo vee 3 it is a better buy. the tv3 is cheaper so more money for a good battery pack
if you want to have lots of fun go brushless for 140$ ask if you want details on parts and instructions.
foamyflier is offline Find More Posts by foamyflier