Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:10 AM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,110 Posts
CF Flybar continued

@Sven, As I said in the other thread, I just can't seem to wrap my brain around this CF flybar from Xtreme.

http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=8447

It looks like two separate pieces of CF and I can't figure (or don't see) the center hub. You mentioned Dubro and Skytek weights.

Can you buy the Skytek weights only? And what is the dia. of the hole?
http://helideluxe2010.ecrater.com/se...ights&x=30&y=4

BTW, I won't actually know the inside dia of this center hub until I have it in hand. Does anybody out there know what the inside dia is on this center hub?
http://www.eskyhelicopters.com/xtrem...bar-p-689.html

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Last edited by Chap1012; Apr 23, 2012 at 11:21 AM. Reason: don't need 2 Mike's
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:31 AM
It flies!!! ... so who cares ?
erdnuckel2's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
9,031 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
@Sven, As I said in the other thread, I just can't seem to wrap my brain around this CF flybar from Xtreme.

http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=8447

Your link refers to the "spares" for the SoloPro 328 Mike. What I wanted to suggest and seemingly did not state clearly enough is to use the weights ONLY, the CF rods are useless, as the center hub YOU are suggesting needsthreaded rods to be assembled

It looks like two separate pieces of CF and I can't figure (or don't see) the center hub. You mentioned Dubro and Skytek weights.
Yes, you see exactly right. this is - again - a spare for a NON-suitable flybar for the V4, but the weights will do the job!


Can you buy the Skytek weights only?
Yes, you can, but I cant compete with the price for the Xtreme weights - it is brass weights made in (expensive) Germany compared with (I guess steel weights made in china (covered with some gold "paint (whatever that is)"
And what is the dia. of the hole?
The diameter of the hole is 2mm (which is a tad bit larger then the original stock flybar - I think that one is about 1.8mm or a tiny bit less

http://helideluxe2010.ecrater.com/se...ights&x=30&y=4

BTW, I won't actually know the inside dia of this center hub until I have it in hand. Does anybody out there know what the inside dia is on this center hub?
http://www.eskyhelicopters.com/xtrem...bar-p-689.html
Like I just mentioned, the inside dia. is 2mm


Mike.

Mike.
Does that help to wrap your head around it Mike?
All these points added together actually suggest to try the new Xtreme V4 flybar, because there Xtreme has "solved" all the problems for you ... I will post a review of this flybar on my blog once I get it in the mail ...

http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=8587

However, I just read the rods for this are AGAIN steel, so there may be some more "investigating" to be done ...

E2
erdnuckel2 is online now Find More Posts by erdnuckel2
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:14 AM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erdnuckel2 View Post

http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=8587

However, I just read the rods for this are AGAIN steel, so there may be some more "investigating" to be done ...

E2
It says it is "spring" steel. That could be a plus. Would those rods stay in place with CA?

Here is a 2 page thread that goes back to Oct, 2010 that you may have missed.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1319399
There is a member who drilled out the center Xtreme hub (ESL049) that is threaded. He says 1.8mm is the max CF rod that can be used. Helitec's CF rod is 1.85mm.

Mike.

EDIT: correction on Helitec's CF rod
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Last edited by Chap1012; Apr 23, 2012 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:32 AM
It flies!!! ... so who cares ?
erdnuckel2's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
9,031 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
It says it is "spring" steel. That could be a plus. Would those rods stay in place with CA?

Here is a 2 page thread that goes back to Oct, 2010 that you may have missed.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1319399
There is a member who drilled out the center Xtreme hub (ESL049) that is threaded. He says 1.8mm is the max CF rod that can be used. Helitec's CF rod is 1.85mm.

Mike.

EDIT: correction on Helitec's CF rod
Well, if you can only drill it to 1.8mm (and I am not sure why that should be the case considering the metal rods that you buy FROM XTREME have 2mm diameter) then that should be even suitable for a stock flybar, right??
Also, the hub is hollow, I know because I once broke one, so whatever you can fit through the pre-drilled holes will fit through the "middle"
I did indeed miss that one Mike ... (then again, cant read everything, right?? ...)
I have no idea yet how they make the rods stay in place, but I will know pretty soon - I just checked my USPS tracker and the flybar is already in NY in customs (sad thing is, as it only took 1 Day to come from china to NY, I have to expect them just have it SIT there in NY now for a few days up to a week, just to make sure it doesnt arrive tooo fast at my place
erdnuckel2 is online now Find More Posts by erdnuckel2
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 23, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
Hilton (Rochester), NY
Joined Mar 2008
9,744 Posts
The one pushing CF flybars was Luvmyhelis and I never really understood how he did it. At one point, I bought a new shortened flybar from Boomtown thinking they had one, but it was their regular shortened flybar with a steel rod. If that Esky center section is hallow all the way through, then one piece of CF rod should do. I guess I don't understand the 1.8MM part of it as nobody is going to have an undersize CF rod, are they? A stock rod is going to be 2MM, not 1.8MM. If you were to CA that CF rod in the center section, is it realistic to expect it to stay put? It's the only way I cab see to make one.
kodak_jack is offline Find More Posts by kodak_jack
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:42 PM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,110 Posts
You can buy solid CF round stock for short money. Here, they have both 1.8mm and 2.0mm
http://www.goodwinds.com/merch/list....lidroundcarbon

BTW, the Xtreme center hub (ESL049), to my knowledge would need to be drilled out for the CF rod to go through in one piece. Those end holes are suppose to be threaded. My Bud is getting ready to place an order with Boomtown,,,...I think I'll include one of these. I just have to get my hands on one

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:09 PM
It flies!!! ... so who cares ?
erdnuckel2's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
9,031 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
You can buy solid CF round stock for short money. Here, they have both 1.8mm and 2.0mm
http://www.goodwinds.com/merch/list....lidroundcarbon

BTW, the Xtreme center hub (ESL049), to my knowledge would need to be drilled out for the CF rod to go through in one piece. Those end holes are suppose to be threaded. My Bud is getting ready to place an order with Boomtown,,,...I think I'll include one of these. I just have to get my hands on one

Mike.
There is only a very thin stretch of aluminum once you get to the "end" of the threaded hole Mike. Like I say, I once broke one in half and the "inside" was hollow, there was only a little aluminum separating the "inside" from the threaded hole - this is why the hub HAS to be drilled out to push the CF rod all the way through.
but like I say, in a few days to weeks from now I will have the new one and can do a fact based comparison ...
erdnuckel2 is online now Find More Posts by erdnuckel2
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
6 Posts
Hi!
I hope I can just invade this thread with another question
I want to change my inner shaft to the longer one and I see those well-priced shafts http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=4111.
However, I still need a head for it.
It is not possible to take off the metal head from a shaft like this, right?
http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=2776
While it IS possible to remove the metal head from this shaft?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Esky-metal-C...item415b39fcfd

So if haven't made my message clear: is it possible to take off the metal head from any inner shaft and reuse it?

Thanks!
meisadam is offline Find More Posts by meisadam
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:21 PM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,205 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by meisadam View Post
So if haven't made my message clear: is it possible to take off the metal head from any inner shaft and reuse it?

Thanks!
Yes! And I found the cheapest way to find an extended tempered innershaft is to buy one of the tempered cheap flybar shafts from a 450 cp heli. Then cut it down to however long you need it. Then either use a carbonfibre tube to space it up at the top, or use fuel tubing inbetween the upper collar and head.

And yes KJ, ealier, much earlier I used CF rod to supply my helis with flybars but quickly abandoned it. Metal ones survive a crash and bend. Carbonfibre shatters. I lost more than a few matched flybar weights this way. But on my dual swash flybarred builds I needed to jenny craig the head units. So I used CF on as many parts as I could.

There are a few ways to center the carbonfibre 2mm rod inside the hub. One was to lightly epoxy them. (remember you have to get them back out when damaged) Another was to use small clamping weights. The third method was to use shrink wrap on each side with just a touch of glue to stop it from sliding. It does work! I fly agressively though. So if you are not crashing much, carbonfibre flybars work and work well.
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:09 PM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,110 Posts
@Luv, Dang, I've been very lucky with my CF flybar I bought from Tony several years ago. My CF flybar has literary been to hell and back. TWICE This is why I'm so adamant about putting one together. I flew several different types of metal flybars and as soon as I put the CF flybar on, it was like night and day. Simply no comparison...that's when I swore off metal flybars. The metal jobs are a huge PITA to straighten after every little bump. Unfortunately, soon I will be forced to go backwards

BTW Luv, I thought you never crashed

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:10 PM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
Hilton (Rochester), NY
Joined Mar 2008
9,744 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by meisadam View Post
Hi!
I hope I can just invade this thread with another question
I want to change my inner shaft to the longer one and I see those well-priced shafts http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=4111.
However, I still need a head for it.
It is not possible to take off the metal head from a shaft like this, right?
http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/in...oducts_id=2776
While it IS possible to remove the metal head from this shaft?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Esky-metal-C...item415b39fcfd

So if haven't made my message clear: is it possible to take off the metal head from any inner shaft and reuse it?

Thanks!
You have to make sure you are not mixing apples and oranges:
An Xtreme "extended inner shaft" is REALLY a taller upper rotor head (metal) that has a STOCK length inner shaft attached to it (by set screws). You can get one that is 8MM taller or one that is 12MM taller. Obviously, the larger number gives more separation between the upper and lower blades. Once you decide which amount of separation you'd like, you buy that "extended inner shaft" and get the taller head and a standard length of shaft. If you crash or somehow cause the inner shaft to bend, you take the shaft off of the head and just put on another standard length shaft. It is possible to make your own shafts by buying 2MM shafting at a hobby shop or by getting hardened drill rod from an industrial supplier. You would cut the shaft to the stock length and then, using a Dremel or other suitable tool, add flats on the shaft for the head set screws and the inner shaft gear set screws to tighten against. NOTE: If you do not add the flats to the shafts, the speed of the shaft spinning and the screws not having anything to hold onto will cause the head and/ or gear to slip and the heli will not fly. What WILL fly is the whole upper blade assembly as the whole shaft and all go flying out of the heli!!!!!!!
It is also possible to buy 2MM shafting from wherever you choose and make the shaft itself longer than stock. The problem you run into with this is that you will end up with an inner shaft that is longer than the outer shaft and this will produce chucking that will cause the inner shaft gear to engage and disengage the motor pinion. The heli will NOT fly this way!! To make up the difference between the two shaft lengths, you will have to make a spacer to, in effect, lengthen the outer shaft to match the extra length added to the inner shaft. If you have a bad/ bent outer shaft, you can make the spacer out of a piece of shaft cut off of the bent one.
See, method #2 is complicated.
If you buy a metal head that is just a metal version of a stock upper head, it buys you nothing. It's considered bling and is unnecessary.
It should be noted that any inner shaft is going to bend at the very top where it is unsupported and cause wobble = vibration.
After all of that, yes, you can reuse the metal head as long as it is not somehow damaged.
kodak_jack is offline Find More Posts by kodak_jack
Last edited by kodak_jack; Apr 26, 2012 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:17 PM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
Hilton (Rochester), NY
Joined Mar 2008
9,744 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
@Luv, Dang, I've been very lucky with my CF flybar I bought from Tony several years ago. My CF flybar has literary been to hell and back. TWICE This is why I'm so adamant about putting one together. I flew several different types of metal flybars and as soon as I put the CF flybar on, it was like night and day. Simply no comparison...that's when I swore off metal flybars. The metal jobs are a huge PITA to straighten after every little bump. Unfortunately, soon I will be forced to go backwards

BTW Luv, I thought you never crashed

Mike.
See the above discussion about using drill rod for shafts. Why not flybars?
kodak_jack is offline Find More Posts by kodak_jack
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 12:21 PM
Registered User
Redondo Beach, CA
Joined Jan 2007
169 Posts
Lama and lots of spares in classfied

I was packing up some old gear for storage, and I thought some of it might find a new home. If I could generate a few bucks for my new mCPx habit, that would be OK too.

This Lama is a V3 with 2.4 GHz 4-in-1 installed. Lots of spares as well as the old 72 MHz 4-in-1, transmitter and kit.
Lama Classified

I also have a Honey Bee with upgrades, spares, and a complete ARTF as back up. This was the bird I learned to hover and was my everyday flyer once upon a time.
HB FP Classified

If you are interested and think my prices are off, send me a PM.

Thanks,
Alan
ailevin is offline Find More Posts by ailevin
Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2012, 11:48 AM
Registered User
kodak_jack's Avatar
Hilton (Rochester), NY
Joined Mar 2008
9,744 Posts
Outer Shaft

My battery went limp as I was flying last night and the heli came down in the grass. It seemed as if the outer shaft was wobbling and the 12MM extended head definitely was. OK, no problem, I have spare parts. Let me tell you what a giant PITA it was to replace the outer shaft on this heli. The bearing and magic brass washer were on that shaft and did NOT want to budge. I played around with a small flat bladed screw driver for quite a while and a couple too many finger injuries before I could get them to muster any movement at all. The same went for the tiny bearing inside the outer shaft gear. They must provide the people who assemble these things a BFH and tell them "Make it fit". Anyway, it's back flying again.
kodak_jack is offline Find More Posts by kodak_jack
Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2012, 12:27 PM
Fly em if ya got em.
leethetreeguy's Avatar
Winder Ga
Joined Sep 2008
11,785 Posts
I have had to sand and polish mine to get some of the parts off the shaft. Try wording that so it dosn't sound bad. ahahahaha
Lee
leethetreeguy is online now Find More Posts by leethetreeguy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Lama parts. Xtreme tial/blades/etc. GFBurke Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Feb 14, 2007 04:58 PM
Found WANTED: CORONA PARTS , NEW, USED, UPGRADES, etc... setting up for Nephew kookboy Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Jan 07, 2007 01:26 AM