HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 13, 2007, 09:05 PM
Registered User
Sudbury, Ont. Canada
Joined Apr 2005
63 Posts
Great advice guys ... thanks!
sheleb is offline Find More Posts by sheleb
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 14, 2007, 09:46 AM
There are four lights!
kcar's Avatar
Santa Cruz, C.A.
Joined Jan 2005
702 Posts
My Seawind setup:

UltraFly Frio 950kv
Thunderbird 18
Apc-e 9x9
TP2100pl or Tp2200ex

What do you think? What kind of power are you guys getting
with the rimfire? 120-130 watts is where i'm at...

Kcar
kcar is offline Find More Posts by kcar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 01:05 PM
MaineFlyer
jpgilbert's Avatar
Augusta, Me
Joined Feb 2005
894 Posts
kcar,
Take a look at page 11 in this thread for my results.

Joe
jpgilbert is offline Find More Posts by jpgilbert
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 01:09 PM
Pull out early!
DiveBombDave's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Jan 2005
1,956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcar
My Seawind setup:

UltraFly Frio 950kv
Thunderbird 18
Apc-e 9x9
TP2100pl or Tp2200ex

What do you think? What kind of power are you guys getting
with the rimfire? 120-130 watts is where i'm at...

Kcar
I'm running an APC 9x6SloFly on the stock rimfire 28-30 motor. At the top of the pack it's holding 15a for about 160 watts. Mid pack is 14a. The motor's rated for 14a continuous and 20a burst.

Dave
DiveBombDave is offline Find More Posts by DiveBombDave
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2007, 03:48 PM
Plane on the Brain
coolboarder's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
838 Posts
i want to see your tp2200 extreme results. That is one heavy batt
coolboarder is offline Find More Posts by coolboarder
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 08:47 AM
Registered User
Ohio
Joined May 2003
2,083 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiveBombDave
I'm running an APC 9x6SloFly on the stock rimfire 28-30 motor. At the top of the pack it's holding 15a for about 160 watts. Mid pack is 14a. The motor's rated for 14a continuous and 20a burst.

Dave
Hi Dave, are you using the TP1320 prolite 13C? What are your run times? Seems like the APC 9x6 slowfly would be too much prop for that battery/motor config. My 1320 is pretty warm using the stock motor and prop. I do like my TP1320 better than my TP2100 prolite.

Ed
no stick is offline Find More Posts by no stick
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 01:51 PM
Pull out early!
DiveBombDave's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Jan 2005
1,956 Posts
I'm running tp2100 prolites, but I bought a smaller hyperion 1500 saving me about 15g of noseweight. With the 1500, I fly for 20-25 minutes and have yet to put more than 1000mah back in the pack.

The motor's rated at 14a continuous and 20a burst... so I just kept propping up on a wattmeter until I got 14 or better. I tried an 8x6SF like the other guys at the lake were using - pulled 12a. For a little more 'oomph' when flying beside them (and a little more thrust to horse off of the water) - I mounted a 9x6SF and the motor seems very happy with it, since I'm never wide open for more than 10 secs or so (small lake).

The hyp 1500 pack is 25C rated, so it doesn't even feel warm when it lands. I do not have any 1320 packs but plan on buying one to compare (more the CG change is what I'm after). If the tp1320 is 13C rated, that gives you about 17a you can use for a bit.

I also tried a MAS three blade 8x6, but the blades are thin and it only pulled 12a. Looked cool, tho.

Dave
DiveBombDave is offline Find More Posts by DiveBombDave
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 07:44 PM
Registered User
Ohio
Joined May 2003
2,083 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiveBombDave
I'm running tp2100 prolites, but I bought a smaller hyperion 1500 saving me about 15g of noseweight. With the 1500, I fly for 20-25 minutes and have yet to put more than 1000mah back in the pack.

The motor's rated at 14a continuous and 20a burst... so I just kept propping up on a wattmeter until I got 14 or better. I tried an 8x6SF like the other guys at the lake were using - pulled 12a. For a little more 'oomph' when flying beside them (and a little more thrust to horse off of the water) - I mounted a 9x6SF and the motor seems very happy with it, since I'm never wide open for more than 10 secs or so (small lake).

The hyp 1500 pack is 25C rated, so it doesn't even feel warm when it lands. I do not have any 1320 packs but plan on buying one to compare (more the CG change is what I'm after). If the tp1320 is 13C rated, that gives you about 17a you can use for a bit.

I also tried a MAS three blade 8x6, but the blades are thin and it only pulled 12a. Looked cool, tho.

Dave
Somewhere I got confused. Post 178 discussed TP1320?

Ed
no stick is offline Find More Posts by no stick
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2007, 08:13 PM
Pull out early!
DiveBombDave's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Jan 2005
1,956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiveBombDave
The TP1320 3s is perfect - the 1500-2100's we have are nose heavy, not so much they won't fly, but they are harder to slow down for landing. Dave
No problem... I fly with two other seawinds at the local lake. One guy, the "guru," uses 1320's and is all up at 20oz, and I like the way it flies - not tail heavy, but spirited and responsive to inputs, and can slow way down with a little elevator input, for landing. The other guy flies with 1320's and the same hyp 1500 as mine, and prefers the 1320 but flies the 1500 also, and compensates with two clicks of elev trim. I have flown mine on 2100 (all the way aft in the forward compartment), and it's OK but obviously a little nose heavy. Some people like it this way, but it's pretty fast and sluggish. So I fly on the 1500 exclusively now, and plan to buy a 1320 or two just to liven up the control inputs a little more.

If you like doing some basic aerobatics more than just circling the puddle, go with the 1320 all the way back. My hyp 1500 is about 130grams, and I'd use that as the max weight for a pack. Durations are crazy. Any of those three packs should hold their voltage well under a 12-15amp load, so my amp/power figures for those props should be the same across the board.

Dave
DiveBombDave is offline Find More Posts by DiveBombDave
Last edited by DiveBombDave; Oct 15, 2007 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 09:05 AM
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
4,827 Posts
Here's my Seawind with friends from my fleet at the Float Fly this weekend.
MIke McD
kingsflyer is online now Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 06:05 PM
Unstoppable
Lancair 888's Avatar
Northern Virginia
Joined Oct 2007
109 Posts
Hello, I Posted about this plane in the general section asking about motors + water collisions

But I have questions better answered here, I know now that I must go buy this plane as soon as I get paid, but my power options are of concern.
Not made of money and currently have 3 2100 TP and 1 evo 2500 monster.
I heard some one say the eflight 450 is a good motor choice aside from the recomended one?

I want more then enough power, just how I prefer planes after my weak powered lancair experince, more power is better /shrug

Im thinking a minimum eflight 450, and maybe eflight 480 + my TP 2100's weight is of little importance as my lancair flies just under 2lbs NOW, thanks to my all custom firewall/motor mount.

So would a eflight 480 + TP 2100's be ok though heavy?
If not would the eflight 450 + TP 2100's do well enough?


Also the ROW wing dip solution, as the guys at my LHS did was to install about 1" wide strip of polycarbonate "plate" angled out of the bottom edge of the wing tip and about 1" protruding down, so these light clear "tips" actually ride the water/grass/snow surface, like a ski, keeping the wings level and the weight a non issue.
Having them the right length will keep drag to a minimum also, but they said with this mod it worked great and no wing dips at all.

I would tend to agree this would make it much more stable without all the CG, elevator, aleron dancing, thoughts? I will be doing this to mine btw

This thing sure seems like fun and will make a nice addition to my fleet.

thanks for all the feedback and info in these threads.
Lancair 888 is offline Find More Posts by Lancair 888
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 01:58 AM
Registered User
Tomas Dunker's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Mar 2006
148 Posts
I looks like a good idea to mount a 1" wide strip of polycarbonate "plate" at the wing tips!
I'm not so good i English so perhaps you got a sketch (outline) or a picture how to mount the strips!?

//Tomas Dunker from Sweden trying to learn English
Tomas Dunker is offline Find More Posts by Tomas Dunker
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 04:44 AM
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
YANKALILLA , SOUTH AUSTRALIA.
Joined Nov 2002
5,234 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiveBombDave
I'm running tp2100 prolites, but I bought a smaller hyperion 1500 saving me about 15g of noseweight. With the 1500, I fly for 20-25 minutes and have yet to put more than 1000mah back in the pack.

The motor's rated at 14a continuous and 20a burst... so I just kept propping up on a wattmeter until I got 14 or better. I tried an 8x6SF like the other guys at the lake were using - pulled 12a. For a little more 'oomph' when flying beside them (and a little more thrust to horse off of the water) - I mounted a 9x6SF and the motor seems very happy with it, since I'm never wide open for more than 10 secs or so (small lake).

The hyp 1500 pack is 25C rated, so it doesn't even feel warm when it lands. I do not have any 1320 packs but plan on buying one to compare (more the CG change is what I'm after). If the tp1320 is 13C rated, that gives you about 17a you can use for a bit.

I also tried a MAS three blade 8x6, but the blades are thin and it only pulled 12a. Looked cool, tho.

Dave
is this with the rimfire ???
SON OF PALEFACE is offline Find More Posts by SON OF PALEFACE
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 11:36 AM
Unstoppable
Lancair 888's Avatar
Northern Virginia
Joined Oct 2007
109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomas Dunker
I looks like a good idea to mount a 1" wide strip of polycarbonate "plate" at the wing tips!
I'm not so good i English so perhaps you got a sketch (outline) or a picture how to mount the strips!?

//Tomas Dunker from Sweden trying to learn English

No pictures atm, but I will try to take some from my LHS demo plane.
Lancair 888 is offline Find More Posts by Lancair 888
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2007, 12:54 PM
Pull out early!
DiveBombDave's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Jan 2005
1,956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SON OF PALEFACE
is this with the rimfire ???
Yes, the 28-30-950. I just bought a second one and tested it on a wattmeter and double checked those numbers. At the top of the pack, 11v, with the 9x6SF, I get 14.5 amps. At the end of the pack, 10v, I get 12.5a, or 125 watts.

Dave
DiveBombDave is offline Find More Posts by DiveBombDave
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Seawind By great Planes postusaf Fuel Plane Talk 9 Jun 03, 2012 06:08 PM
Rant Electrifly C-50 Brush ESC by GREAT PLANES guapoman2000 Power Systems 24 Mar 02, 2009 04:32 AM
Question Seawind by great planes postusaf Waterplanes 1 May 14, 2006 11:32 PM
Great Planes ElectriFly PT-Electric Trainer Kit 56" markmm Electric Plane Talk 14 Oct 04, 2005 03:08 PM
F/S Electric Cub by Great Planes Wing 59" Butch777 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 May 25, 2005 04:58 PM