HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 31, 2007, 07:20 PM
United States, CO, Evergreen
Joined Jul 2007
293 Posts
Question
Battery Leads! Bullets Vs. Deans?

I am new to LIPOs and trying to determine what type of connectors to use on my battery packs. Does anyone have any thoughts on Bullet connectors vs Deans connectors?
Also, if you go with Deans what is the maximum size battery you would use micro dean connectors on?
magee8578 is offline Find More Posts by magee8578
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 31, 2007, 07:35 PM
turn, turn, turn.
Athol, Massachusetts
Joined Oct 2005
10,435 Posts
Search the High Performance Forum and there is a good thread on just this subject.

Deans are good for at least 150 amps on a burst.
North of 230 amps, 6mm. bullet connectors do the job well.

AFAIK from personal experience using Deans Ultra, 10s and 90 amps was no problem for me.
Kenny Sharp is offline Find More Posts by Kenny Sharp
Old Jul 31, 2007, 07:55 PM
Dickinson, Tx.
Joined Sep 2004
5,373 Posts
I use Deans Ultra up to 5S and 48 amps, thats the biggest plane to date. I use little bitty JST on 5 amp and below, everything else gets a Deans.

If you decide to use them, pick up a small bottle of powdered graphite (Lock Lubricant) and sprinkle some in the female, dump it out, makes taking them apart soooo much easier. A small bottle will last a long. long time.

Challenger413
Challenger 413 is online now Find More Posts by Challenger 413
Old Aug 01, 2007, 10:31 AM
Lexington, Ky
Joined Apr 2004
421 Posts
No bullet connectors for batteries. The beauty of Deans is that you can't cross-polarize with them. If the connectors don't preclude that, then it's going to happen eventually. Like last week when I smoked a brand new 3s after its first cycle.
Condre' is offline Find More Posts by Condre'
Old Aug 01, 2007, 12:40 PM
Retired CFI Helicopter
Southeast PA
Joined Jun 2007
1,609 Posts