Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 30, 2007, 11:04 AM
Joined Jan 2005
68 Posts
Discussion
Alfa Mig 15 - Bad Maiden!

Tried to maiden my Alfa Mig 15 Saturday with the stock set up, MP Jet motor, jeti esc and 1320 TP. CG appeared alright with the 1320 forward as I could get it, right under the forward cockpit lip on top of the inlet tunnel. Hand launched level with full power, the Mig stood on it's tail, stalled and went in hard. Nose exploded, tail broke off, wings separated from fuse. Again, the cg and throws were per instructions. I have many years of rc experience with sport glow models, this was my first adventure into edf. Is this power setup marginal? Should the model be hand launched throttle off? Any suggestions or info appreciated, thanks!
hoghead385 is offline Find More Posts by hoghead385
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 30, 2007, 11:34 AM
deltas are cool
Tehachapi ,CA.
Joined Apr 2006
20,431 Posts
the mig some times stands on it's tail if to much elevator is used ,or the launch had too much AOA.you might of had too much up trim.if the C/G was right then it's just the way it was launched. sorry to hear about the plane
AIR SALLY is offline Find More Posts by AIR SALLY
Old Jul 30, 2007, 11:59 AM
Joined Jan 2005
68 Posts
Thanks Air Sally, rather than try and repair, I'll probably just build another kit. Next time, I'll also get someone to hand launch it for me so I can concentrate on flying and not launching until I get acquainted with the flight manners.
Old Jul 30, 2007, 12:00 PM
latinflyer
United States, CA, Milpitas
Joined Dec 2004
747 Posts
I have a alfa mig also, I launch first time full power with recomended CG dead on and elevator center(level) with no problems at all it went right up with no problems. I replaced motor for AON 4900KV Thrust series and at 21AMP no problems still it fly like a champ.

Latinflyer
latinflyer is offline Find More Posts by latinflyer
Old Jul 30, 2007, 02:06 PM
No more Screamer
USA, MN, Eagle Lake
Joined Jan 2004