SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 26, 2007, 10:15 PM
United States, UT, Ogden
Joined Nov 2004
599 Posts
Build Log
NES Hyper 2.3ME Build Thread

Hi my name is Lou and I am going to attemp a build thread - This is my first attempt at a build thread so any advise on how to do it is OK and welcomed. I Purchased the Hyper 2.3 ME after talking with Sal at Northeast Sailplane Products at length about my next sailplane purchase. I told him I wanted something small enough to fly at my local park (couple of football fields clear area) that would thermal well, be easy to land, and be of high quality. We talked about a couple of birds and then the Hyper 2.3 came up... I had seen it on RCG and thought it might be the ticket... I was lucky in that Sal gave me the Special Introductory price that he had put on RCG - but were supposed to be for the first two - I don't know if this was one of those or if Sal was in a good mood but it just goes to show ya - It never hurts to ask...... First impressions after recieving the plane are very positive, with only one concern that I will be going into in a bit. If you want to take a look at the NES site the link is: http://nesail.com/detail.php?productID=5513 I am relatively new to sailplanes, I have aquired a few others , but this is the highest quality constuction I have experienced to date, I have a 2M Astra from SUSA that is a semi moldie that is my main flyer, but I wanted more of a floater and something I could learn to thermal with. ( They are still pretty darn elusive to me... Thermals that is...) The Fit, Finish, Construction, Covering, Composite Work, etc,etc, is flawless with one exception that may or may not be an issue - Like I said I don't have alot of saiplane experience but I am concerned about the hinging method and the hinge gap on this A/C. They used CA hinges, (I have never seen CA hinges used in any other sailplane I own) and the LE of the control surfaces and the TE of the wing are Square ba