HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 12, 2002, 07:42 PM
Richmond, VA
Joined Apr 2002
993 Posts
What is the technique to attach packing tape?

I'm putting together a mini-flash and was wondering how you attach the packing tape as hinges. I've never used packing tape before and a couple of questions come to mind.

Do you leave a gap between the stabilizer and elevator or butt them against one another?

Do you put the tape on one side only so they can't be seen?

If the tape is on the bottom of the elevator is it difficult to make the elevator go up? It seems the tape would restrict the movement.

I know these are basic questions but not having done it before I don't want to screw it up. I'm sure that tape won't come off my nice Solite covering!

thanks,
Grant
Parkflyer is offline Find More Posts by Parkflyer
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2002, 08:10 PM
North GA, USA
Joined Jul 2001
501 Posts
I don't have any experience with the plane you're talking about, but I might be able to answer some of your q's.

Generally, you don't want to leave any more space than necessary between the control surface and body. Just be sure the control surface can still move freely without binding.

Some models use tape on only one side, others tape both sides. Two-sided taping should add some strength to the hinge, and as a consequence will add some resistance to movement.

Generally, the tape follows the contour of the surface rather than spanning the gap. In this way, resistance to movement is minimized.

Good luck. Be sure and post some pics once you get it finished!

Wings
Wings is offline Find More Posts by Wings
Old Nov 12, 2002, 08:52 PM
Richmond, VA
Joined Apr 2002
993 Posts
thanks Wings, I'll give it a go!

I'll definitely post some photos as I think this pup is actually going to look pretty good!
Old Nov 12, 2002, 09:28 PM
Joined Jul 2002
1,155 Posts