HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 16, 2007, 09:28 AM
"Walk of shame" Master!!!
West Chicago Il
Joined Jul 2004
538 Posts
Help!
first 3D plane for an e-flite 480 motor?

Hi,
I've been flying since 2002 but mainly sports planes, slow flyers and wings. but I never actually flew 3D. I wanna give it a shot, since almost all of my friends have better skills than me, and they only been flying for alittle more than a year!
I have an e-flite speed 480 outrunner, I believe it's rated at 26amps for arplanes 16-25oz..

I would like to fly a small Foam (preferaly) airplane that could have 2-1 power to weight ratio.

I was looking at the Great Planes YAK 55 3D EP ARF. It seams perfect but I wanna know from the experts...

thanx.. Vic..
yak 55
NoM'rcrashPlease is offline Find More Posts by NoM'rcrashPlease
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 16, 2007, 10:23 AM
3DHS Junkie
Rhode Island
Joined Jun 2005
5,682 Posts
If you've been flying sport and working up--i would look at the new eflite extra 260 made for the 480. Tone the throws down to fly like a sport plane and as you get comfortable with her open up the throws.
800mZero is offline Find More Posts by 800mZero
Old Jul 16, 2007, 11:56 AM
Joined Mar 2007
109 Posts
In the same situation. Trying to modify the Formosa which I really like as a sport pattern plane. Turned one into a mid wing with large depron surfaces. Has been working really well but heavy due to lots of repairs. Building another to get the weight down. Will need SFG's to aid in low speed KE - high speed is just fine.

Still trying to figure how to hover. Not easy at all. Most other stunts that have some forward flight just need thumb time. Really enjoying doing wacky stuff. Problem is not knowing how I got there to repeat :-) Stiring the pot.

I bought a bunch of the SG versions so working through these.