HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 08, 2007, 01:23 PM
Joined Jul 2007
7 Posts
Discussion
giniker/spinker solution for one meter sail boat

Hi Guys , I am a new boat builder but an old sailor .
from my exprinnce in real races there is a great eccitement in sailing with genoa upwind and using spiniker downwind .
As I am building my first boat I would like to have a posibilty to use roler ferling on my front sail and when the boat goes downwind I would like to extend my genoa to be a asimetric spiniker .
I have a small plan here which I am weeling to share , does anybody did something on this area ?

THANKS , Erez
mabel is offline Find More Posts by mabel
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 09, 2007, 03:05 AM
Beware of the cabbage
London, England
Joined Jun 2005
486 Posts
There are a quite a few people round here interested in gennakers, spinnakers, genoas etc. If you can get the sails to hold the right shape and be controllable remotely and simply then you're on to something good! What do you have in mind? Does your 'plan' work?
MeGrimm is offline Find More Posts by MeGrimm
Old Jul 09, 2007, 06:59 AM
Blackpool, Lancs
Joined Feb 2006
2,678 Posts
I saw an article in a magazine in the early '90s. The spinnaker was furled into a tube under the deck. When the arrangement worked, results were spectacular, but when things went awry, they were not. These were large models.
If you watched the Louis Vuitton series, you would have noticed that even with plenty of well rehearsed crew available, pulling up, dropping and tacking is a complex procedure.
What size were you thinking of?
mfr02 is offline Find More Posts by mfr02
Old Jul 09, 2007, 08:05 AM
Joined Oct 2004
54 Posts
Asy spins/genys

Check out www.microsail.com under "innovations" for sketchs of proven symetrical and asymetrical spinnakers. The most important princible is inducing and removing slack from the halyard and from asymetrical/geny sheets.