HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 02, 2007, 08:52 PM
Flyin' Mode 3!
Lexington, KY
Joined Jul 2007
253 Posts
Help!
New Pilot looking to get into Heli's!!

Hi everyone, I am new to this board and looking forward to getting into the helicopter hobby. I have spent a lot of time at the RunRyder forums but they are very much into the big expensive heli's. I am trying to find a decent inexpensive trainer helicopter. I would like to stay electric. Do you think I should start on a Fixed pitch or a collective pitch? What do you recommend? So far I have been looking at the HoneyBee and the Falcon3D. What are your thoughts? Other suggestions? Remember, I am brand new so I know very little about these so treat me as a total noob.
clawlan is offline Find More Posts by clawlan
Last edited by clawlan; Jul 02, 2007 at 09:18 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2007, 09:33 PM
mad heli scientist
United States, OK, Oklahoma City
Joined Dec 2005
4,034 Posts
Welcome!

Step 1- Read the EHBG: http://www.swashplate.co.uk/ehbg/ehbg-17.pdf

Step 2, repeat step 1

I highly recommend that you first practice extensively with a sim. It's not necessary to learn that way, but it's definitely a lot less frustrating and less expensive. $200 for a sim might sound expensive, but it will pay for itself over and over again. Use the sim as a tool to learn the control basics and orientations first, then get a heli.

I use RealFlight G3.5 and it's quite good. The other good sim option would be Reflex XTR because it also models heli flight accurately, but I have not used it.

Save up at least $1500 to spend on a heli kit and the other electronics to get it flying. The bigger the heli the better, since they are more stable. A Century Swift 16 would be a good choice since you can easily reconfigure it to suit your needs as your skills develop.