Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 02, 2007, 06:00 PM
FlyingPenQuinn
Maryland, USA
Joined Mar 2007
92 Posts
Question
How does intake port design affect EDF performance

Forgive the newbie question, but it is specific to EDF. In the distant future I plan to build a Martin P6M Seamaster. The scale model will have 4 EDF's topside of the wing (or maybe just 2). Due to the shape of the scale design the intake ports are rather small. My question is this:

How does intake port design affect EDF performance and build considerations?

I've seen other EDF designs on the forum that appear to have similar characteristics - one, even, with a very long intake port with the EDF apparently at the end of the "cowling". (I'm a noob, so please excuse any incorrect terminology). Thanks to all for responses.

Quinn
QuinnH is offline Find More Posts by QuinnH
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2007, 06:14 PM
Suspended Account
Braintree, Essex
Joined Mar 2006
3,174 Posts
If you want opinions there are plenty in the Cermark F16 thread! There is lots of science and at the end of the day the limitation will be whatever the scale design will let you do. From what I know, anything down to 70% fsa (Fan Swept Area) with a good rounded lip will not give you any problems. Place the fans in the duct to suit access and CG, because the control of the air coming in is just as important of the air going out.

Its easier to build a light outlet duct as the EDF is trying to inflate it, so not so strong is no problem. Inlets not so. not familier with the full size, why not post a pic?
Whistling Watts is offline Find More Posts by Whistling Watts
Old Jul 02, 2007, 06:32 PM
go fly! no crashes!
Honolulu, HI
Joined Jun 2003
2,845 Posts
Its a neat flyingboat (vs seaplane? not sure which fits better). There was one done as a GDF (i think?) unit before.

http://www.aviation-history.com/martin/p6m.html

ah. found a thread(somewhat) in waterplanes forum.